LDraw Pattern Creator/ LDPattern Help

LDraw Pattern Creator/ LDPattern Help
Hi,

I'm totally new to anything CAD (well, except LDraw and MLCad, but only moving bricks from A to B). I'm building some Star Wars models, but there are so many printed parts missing. I was trying to recreate the pattern for 30116pb03 (Panel 14 x 14 x 2 2/3 Quarter Saucer Top with Millennium Falcon Pattern) (yes, I know, maybe hard stuff for a beginner, but that's the part I really want) and came across all the programs like LPC and LDP. The principle is clear. Import a part, draw a lot of triangles, save, done. But there are the things between these points, that I don't get. At least not by tial and error. For example: I'll import the part 30116.dat. Fine. And now? How do I get one of the 15 facets to the right position? How do I position the background image right? When I zoom in the part, all I see is the middle. So, how do I scroll left/right or up/down? Since I'm stuck here and did not even get to the "draw a lot of triangles" point, I turned to the Sticker Generator, which was a suitable alternative (for me). I made stickers for every single facet of the part (and after 3 days work, not every sticker 100% accurate, be it in size or position), the final part and subparts being about 12 MB (!), which made the pov file quite heavy. Anyway, I really like to do it right, so anyone who has some experience with LPC or LDP could you please at least tell me, how do I get to the "draw a lot on triangles" part?

Thank you.
Re: LDraw Pattern Creator/ LDPattern Help
Hi Daniel,

If you're only interested in having the stickers on the povray model you can texture map an image file onto the right surface. I can't give you an example right now as my internet access and time is limited at the moment.

But perhaps someone else can?

If you want them in LDraw as well it's much, much harder. But doing it POV only is a thought.

Tim