Rotation matrix

Rotation matrix
How do I calculate the cumulative sum or total of transformation matrices passed down from parent to child to grandchild, etc.?

The docs say:

Quote:Formally, the transformed point (u', v', w') can be calculated from point (u, v, w) as follows:
u' = a*u + b*v + c*w + x
v' = d*u + e*v + f*w + y
w' = g*u + h*v + i*w + z

but they do not say what a', b', c', d', etc. are. I am not very good with matrices, thanks!
RE: Rotation matrix
(2020-02-23, 9:28)Michael Horvath Wrote: but they do not say what a', b', c', d', etc. are. I am not very good with matrices, thanks!
This is defined just above:
Code:
1 <colour> x y z a b c d e f g h i <file>
(2020-02-23, 10:36)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: This is defined just above:
Code:
1 <colour> x y z a b c d e f g h i <file>

I am trying to calculate what a', b', c', etc. (with apostrophe) of a MPD sub-model would be after processing the model. The values of a, b, c, etc. (without apostrophe) are obviously already known.
(2020-02-23, 11:22)Michael Horvath Wrote: I am trying to calculate what a', b', c', etc. (with apostrophe) of a MPD sub-model would be after processing the model. The values of a, b, c, etc. (without apostrophe) are obviously already known.
Sorry, misunderstood... You then need to perform a matrix multiplication.
if you have a submodel sm.dat containing reference to xxx.dat as
Code:
1 16 x y z a b c d e f g h i xxx.dat
and a model m.dat using transformed submodel sm:
Code:
1 16 x' y' z' a' b' c' d' e' f' g' h' i' sm.dat
then model m can be expressed as a transformed xxx.dat as
Code:
1 16 x" y" z" a" b" c" d" e" f" g" h" i" xxx.dat
with
Code:
x"=a'x+b'y+c'z+x'
y"=d'x+e'y+f'z+y'
z"=g'x+h'y+i'z+z'
and
Code:
a"=a'a+b'd+c'g
b"=a'b+b'e+c'h
c"=a'c+b'f+c'i
d"=d'a+e'd+f'g
e"=d'b+e'e+f'h
f"=d'c+e'f+f'i
h"=g'a+h'd+i'g
h"=g'b+h'e+i'h
i"=g'c+h'f+i'i
You can find gazillion of stuff on the web about matrix multiplication... hopefully you can wrap your head about it!