LDraw.org Discussion Forums
LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: LDraw Editors and Viewers (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) (/thread-22200.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Roland Melkert - 2017-07-28

(2017-07-28, 7:38)Willy Tschager Wrote: * I'm experimenting with chains for the first time and love the tool but one of them got totally twisted and I wish there was a button which resets everything back to default.
Resetting templates is something I have been thinking about in relation with switching quality levels, but I never figured out a clean way of doing it. I will try again in 2.0 though.

As for that chain it looks like you added a third skin segment. Chains normally use two alternating (link) skin sections so if you delete the third one (probably the red one?) it goes back to normal.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Willy Tschager - 2017-07-30

(2017-07-28, 17:19)Roland Melkert Wrote: As for that chain it looks like you added a third skin segment. Chains normally use two alternating (link) skin sections so if you delete the third one (probably the red one?) it goes back to normal.

Correct, but I have no idea who it got there.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Willy Tschager - 2017-07-30

Wish of the day:

* I'd like to have a color button or icon which either quick sets the color 47 - Trans clean or makes the selected part even more transparent. I need this for my finetuning technique.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Owen Dive - 2017-07-30

(2017-07-30, 8:54)Willy Tschager Wrote: Wish of the day:

* I'd like to have a color button or icon which either quick sets the color 47 - Trans clean or makes the selected part even more transparent. I need this for my finetuning technique.

w.

Oh yeah, being able to temporarily make parts transparent (while not hiding them altogether) would be really useful in certain placement situations, even with part snapping - e.g. making sure that an axle-joiner is sitting precisely on the end of an axle.

Owen.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Willy Tschager - 2017-08-16

Stupid me. I cannot find the command to refresh the library after I have downloaded some unofficials from the PT and place them in my unofficial folder. Hints are welcome.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Roland Melkert - 2017-08-16

(2017-08-16, 12:03)Willy Tschager Wrote: Stupid me. I cannot find the command to refresh the library after I have downloaded some unofficials from the PT and place them in my unofficial folder. Hints are welcome.

Library changes should be automatically detected when you start the program.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Willy Tschager - 2017-08-16

(2017-08-16, 16:53)Roland Melkert Wrote:
(2017-08-16, 12:03)Willy Tschager Wrote: Stupid me. I cannot find the command to refresh the library after I have downloaded some unofficials from the PT and place them in my unofficial folder. Hints are welcome.

Library changes should be automatically detected when you start the program.

I know this. But I want to add parts to my library during the build as I come them across, without shutting the prog down.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Jaco van der Molen - 2017-08-17

(2017-08-16, 17:15)Willy Tschager Wrote:
(2017-08-16, 16:53)Roland Melkert Wrote: Library changes should be automatically detected when you start the program.

I know this. But I want to add parts to my library during the build as I come them across, without shutting the prog down.

I think this is not possible. However, changing any model outside LDCad (in say a texteditor, good ol MLCad, LPub3D), including parts, should trigger a prompt reload.
Adding a part does not do this. I could be wrong though.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Roland Melkert - 2017-08-17

(2017-08-17, 12:05)Jaco van der Molen Wrote:
(2017-08-16, 17:15)Willy Tschager Wrote: I know this. But I want to add parts to my library during the build as I come them across, without shutting the prog down.

I think this is not possible. However, changing any model outside LDCad (in say a texteditor, good ol MLCad, LPub3D), including parts, should trigger a prompt reload.
Adding a part does not do this. I could be wrong though.

I'm sorry it is indeed not setup to detect/add parts to the library during runtime, it only reloads already known ones upon changes. Any addition to the library needs a restart of the program.


RE: LDCad 1.6 (win+linux) - Roland Melkert - 2017-08-21

I've finally finished rendering the 8852 animation in POV-Ray

https://youtu.be/ZeUtxgQp_7g

It took 30 hours which I let running on the background now and then, hence the two month delay.