LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Thinking about doing a LDCad 1.7 version
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
(2020-02-11, 2:26)Michael Horvath Wrote: [ -> ]Could you maybe add a special "View" mode, where all controls are for moving the viewpoint and we cannot accidentally touch and alter a part? Thanks.
The view mode is already there. Click on the name of model on top right of edit window and select "view" tab.
I've noticed that sometime when I snap something (especially a bunch of things at once) to grid or reset the orientation that it doesn't snap all the way but instead gets very close (the largest error I've seen is 0.01 on position, the matrix is usually super close like 0.0001)
I'd like to see a configurable keyboard shortcut that would open the part bin display filter regardless of where the mouse is.  I'm usually finding parts by entering a part number in the filter, and having to mouse over the parts bin to open the filter feels slow.  Thanks for considering it!
I don't know if anybody have this wish already,
but a german language package would be nice. 😉
Maybe in the 2.0 Version.
(2020-02-19, 0:48)Orion Pobursky Wrote: [ -> ]I've noticed that sometime when I snap something (especially a bunch of things at once) to grid or reset the orientation that it doesn't snap all the way but instead gets very close (the largest error I've seen is 0.01 on position, the matrix is usually super close like 0.0001)

Precision has always been an issue even while using all double precision variables.

The main reason is the mutation is applied as a 'difference' to all the parts in the selection.

So if the main part in the selection has been mutated a lot (or is read from low decimal count file) the rounding errors will be amplified.

Alternative might be to use 'snap all to edit grid plane' from the placement menu.
(2020-02-19, 20:23)Hendrix Wrote: [ -> ]I'd like to see a configurable keyboard shortcut that would open the part bin display filter regardless of where the mouse is.  I'm usually finding parts by entering a part number in the filter, and having to mouse over the parts bin to open the filter feels slow.  Thanks for considering it!

F3 works while the mouse is inside the bin instead of just the filter text box area.

And if you want a global key you could make that happen by writing a small macro, like:

Code:
function runBinSrc()
  local act=ldc.action('partBinWin_filterOpen');
  act:run()
end

function register()
  local macro=ldc.macro('Global bin src')
  macro:setEvent('run', 'runBinSrc')
  macro:setHint("Open the filter dialog of the last used part bin.")
end

And then assign F3 to that macro using the hotkey configuration dialog (right click on the tool bar).
(2020-02-20, 15:07)Johann Eisner Wrote: [ -> ]I don't know if anybody have this wish already,
but a german language package would be nice. 😉
Maybe in the 2.0 Version.

2.0 will be language independent but that version is a long way out.

1.x uses mostly central constants for all non dialog texts so if someone translated that it would be possible to compile a German version. But all the dialogs will still be English.
Some ideas:

Eye view - the ability to move the camera as if you're in a first person game, this will make it easier to go into tight spaces such as a room in a  house and inspect building errors etc. The movement could be tied to the grid stepping.

The ability to select all parts of a given type or color does exist but only if you assign a keyboard hotkey for 'select working part' or 'select working color' and then holding shift when you want to do 'select working part' / 'select working color' a second time. But shift does not work with the menu item, only a hotkey so maybe add shift support to the menu item and also assign a keyboard shortcut by default for 'select working part/color' because it is used super often.

Also a 'select all connected parts' like in LDD would be cool.

The ability to rotate multiple bricks but where they have their own rotation centers instead of a single rotation center where everything else selected orbits that.

A secondary color ootion like in MSpaint by right clicking on a color square in the color menu and having a second long square telling you the currently selected secondary color.

Also the ability to automatically align another part to a part with a diagonaal edge like a wing plate. example

A new 'node view' editing pane like in the following video for auto generating parametric structures like in grasshoooer/blender: https://youtu.be/8TFrz2eWyB0?t=865

Regards, SNIPE
Here's an idea I just had (and given our experience with LDCad, I wouldn't be surprised if this isn't already possible and I just don't know it).  Big Grin

What about being able to modify the "insert" command with arrow keys, in order to place the next part to the immediate left/right/top/bottom of the previous one? This could speed up placement of repetitive parts like floor tiles and so on.

(I know that you can already guide the placement of the next part by pointing your cursor, but you still have to "commit" the placement by clicking; my idea would automatically place and commit the next part.)
(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]Eye view - the ability to move the camera as if you're in a first person game, this will make it easier to go into tight spaces such as a room in a  house and inspect building errors etc. The movement could be tied to the grid stepping.
I'm working on something like this for 1.7, but it will be an animation mode thing.

Originally I wanted to push this back to 2.0 as the 2.0 rendering engine is much better with large scenes as 1.x does only some very basic frustum (near plane) culling.


(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]The ability to select all parts of a given type or color does exist but only if you assign a keyboard hotkey for 'select working part' or 'select working color' and then holding shift when you want to do 'select working part' / 'select working color' a second time. But shift does not work with the menu item, only a hotkey so maybe add shift support to the menu item and also assign a keyboard shortcut by default for 'select working part/color' because it is used super often.
If I understand correctly the main problem is selecting a work part/color without loosing the selection?
Maybe an option to make the 'hot' part the working part/color?

(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]Also a 'select all connected parts' like in LDD would be cool.
That would be very cool indeed, but its very complicated Big Grin I do have some snapping improvements planned for 2.0 though.

(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]The ability to rotate multiple bricks but where they have their own rotation centers instead of a single rotation center where everything else selected orbits that.
Might be handy, I'll look into it.
Until then there is a sample marcro for this, it applies the orientation of the first selected part to all other parts in the selection. If needed you can adjust it to (also) apply relative rotation.

(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]A secondary color ootion like in MSpaint by right clicking on a color square in the color menu and having a second long square telling you the currently selected secondary color.
I did consider using multiple work part/colors before but I'm afraid it will complicate things too much.

(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]Also the ability to automatically align another part to a part with a diagonaal edge like a wing plate. example
This would need additional information stored in parts (like snapping and mirroring).
Afterwards it would need a way to cycle trough the orientations that information supplies.
Someone has suggested something similar like this before in order to use something other then the parts local 0,0,0 while dragging/snapping.

(2020-03-02, 5:32)SNIPE Wrote: [ -> ]A new 'node view' editing pane like in the following video for auto generating parametric structures like in grasshoooer/blender: https://youtu.be/8TFrz2eWyB0?t=865
Script would the why to do this in 1.6. An interactive flow chart like that video is something I would like very much at some point but it will get complicated very fast.
My LD4DStudio project had something similar to it, but very little people used it. That's why I decided to go script only in LDCad which basiclly does the same (without the gui) trough the aniTools module.
I might bring back some kind of gui for 2.0 though, but not sure yet.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15