LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Thinking about doing a LDCad 1.7 version
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
(2020-05-24, 2:48)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]But the other part is easy to replicate:

Yes that's a bug, it is trying to format a double like an integer. Big Grin

It's a presentation only issue, so no real corruption.
One other thing that I've thought of. When you hover over a part, status bar displays information about it. For example:

"Plate 1 x 2 (3023.dat) in Red (4,P) at 80; 117; -32"

But that info disappears once your mouse leaves the part even if that part is selected

I would find very useful if, when you have a part selected, the information would still be displayed in the status bar. And that you could configure a right click menu (perhaps in text file) that would open URLs. And Double click for a default URL!

In the example above, If I would right click on the status bar, a menu would pop up that would have the following options:

Open Part in:

Bricklink (default)
Brickset
LDraw Part Tracker

And the config text file for the menu could be perhaps something like this:

(entry name) : (URL with var);
"Bricklink" : "https://www.bricklink.com/v2/catalog/catalogitem.page?P="&%part%"&#T=C";
Brickset : "https://brickset.com/parts/design-"&%part%;
Ldraw Part Tracker : "https://www.ldraw.org/parts/official-part-lookup.html?folder=parts&partid="&%part%

Do you think that would be possible/useful?

Best regards,

Miguel
(2020-06-19, 22:08)Miguel Reizinho Wrote: [ -> ]I would find very useful if, when you have a part selected, the information would still be displayed in the status bar. And that you could configure a right click menu (perhaps in text file) that would open URLs. And Double click for a default URL!

In the example above, If I would right click on the status bar, a menu would pop up that would have the following options:

Open Part in:

Bricklink (default)
Brickset
LDraw Part Tracker
Great idea!
Better said, two ideas:

1. the first one is doable: do not clear the part description from status bar immediately after mouse cursor is out of the part. I'd add "think up how to display a complete description" because many times the description text is too long for the status bar
2. URLs, configurable - great idea! However, it'd need a transition from LDCAD part codes to BL ones, which is an ongoing project, AFAIK.
(2020-06-21, 20:50)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Great idea!
Better said, two ideas:

1. the first one is doable: do not clear the part description from status bar immediately after mouse cursor is out of the part. I'd add "think up how to display a complete description" because many times the description text is too long for the status bar
2. URLs, configurable - great idea! However, it'd need a transition from LDCAD part codes to BL ones, which is an ongoing project, AFAIK.

Both hints and selection properties are better handled in my 2.0 plans.

1.7 is a '2.0 takes to long so lets do another 1.x to fast-track some fun stuff' version Smile  So I don't want to big changes to the way things generally work. That said I could add a simple option to not clear the hint bar when the mouse is on nothing.

The second point might be possible using a macro, but I'll have to look into that some more know for sure.
(2020-06-22, 17:02)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]Both hints and selection properties are better handled in my 2.0 plans.

1.7 is a '2.0 takes to long so lets do another 1.x to fast-track some fun stuff' version Smile  So I don't want to big changes to the way things generally work. That said I could add a simple option to not clear the hint bar when the mouse is on nothing.

The second point might be possible using a macro, but I'll have to look into that some more know for sure.

If it helps, stud.io has a "table" of parts conversion from LDRAW to Bricklink. Inside folder "C:\Program Files\Studio 2.0\data" there's a file named "StudioPartDefinition2.txt". It's a TAB delimited file with several columns with useful information including BL ItemNo and LDraw ItemNo
Many OMR models have generated parts (hoses, cables, bands, etc.) and I can see the bulk of the generated MPD files are from the generated fallback content. 

If the Web-viewer for OMR can auto-generate content based on the LDCad commands, then we can save a lot of disk space and a lot of network traffic, while still being able to generate fallback geometries when downloading from scripts. For this reason I would like to implement this functionality.

I seem to recall someone else was interested in the algorithms for generating the fallback geometries. Is this open sourced? If not, would it be a problem that the OMR viewer uses open source code for generating the fallback geometries?
(2020-06-26, 12:17)Lasse Deleuran Wrote: [ -> ]If the Web-viewer for OMR can auto-generate content based on the LDCad commands, then we can save a lot of disk space and a lot of network traffic, while still being able to generate fallback geometries when downloading from scripts. For this reason I would like to implement this functionality.

I seem to recall someone else was interested in the algorithms for generating the fallback geometries. Is this open sourced? If not, would it be a problem that the OMR viewer uses open source code for generating the fallback geometries?

The main used algorithm is bezier, second most used thing is interpolation of quaterions.

The meta's themselves are documented on my site and also on LDraw.org itself as it was proposed to become (the base of) a standard some time ago.

If you need some other details feel free to ask.
Perhaps this is simple, perhaps not…but may I suggest a "Reselect" command (or "Select->Previous" or "Select->Again") for those times when you accidentally de-select those dozens of scattered parts you just spent several minutes clicking on. :-)
(2020-07-06, 3:06)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]may I suggest a "Reselect" command (or "Select->Previous" or "Select->Again") for those times when you accidentally de-select those dozens of scattered parts you just spent several minutes clicking on. :-)

I know some programs include selection changes in the undo information, but I always found that somewhat annoying. I might make it an option if it can be done without to much change.
(2020-07-07, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]I know some programs include selection changes in the undo information, but I always found that somewhat annoying. I might make it an option if it can be done without to much change.

Yeah, I can see it being annoying if it were part of the undo/redo chain. I was picturing maybe a new fourth entry in the Select menu, as "All, None, Invert, Last" or some such. But maybe behind the scenes it's the same thing…

I could also just be more careful and not accidentally deselect a huge list of parts. :-)
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15