LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Backend updates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
(2020-08-03, 9:57)Chris Dee Wrote: [ -> ]How is this for starters? https://www.ldraw.org/cgi-bin/pthist3.cgi

Wow, I wonder what happened on 2010-01-11? :-D
(2020-08-03, 17:14)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]Wow, I wonder what happened on 2010-01-11? :-D

Something in the regular dependency rebuild must have failed at the point the daily stats were gathered. These things happen!
(2020-08-03, 16:34)Orion Pobursky Wrote: [ -> ]I like it. I think I'd have the graph container have a fixed size with a scroll bar but I'm ok with the way it is now.

Thanks. It gets a scroll bar automatically if you request fewer files per pixel. The default is a good compromise with the current number of files.

There is still some inline CSS styling that I need to move to the stylesheet, once it is finalised.
(2020-08-03, 21:01)Chris Dee Wrote: [ -> ]Something in the regular dependency rebuild must have failed at the point the daily stats were gathered. These things happen!

Ah, I was picturing a massive and successful subfile-certifying campaign perhaps! Smile
(2020-07-30, 13:49)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: [ -> ]...
Yes, it looks like that. The button say Menu, but nothing happens when I click on it.
I use Chrome 83 on Android 9. Is that enough?

I may have an insight on something relating to this. it appears there are two domains with different results:

ldraw.org and www.ldraw.org

[attachment=5614][attachment=5618][attachment=5617]

With www.ldraw.org the menu button works, when using the plain domain ldraw.org the menu button does not work.

Similarly there are effects on other sections of the site, although I only checked the Parts Tracker main page (the menu button works on both here):

[attachment=5615][attachment=5616]

I used Firefox 68.11.0 on Android to check the site from my smartphone. On PC there appear to be no visible difference.

As an additional note, the bookmark I made on the website has ldraw.org I can update my bookmarks, but for the average user that wouldn't know, consider a server permanent redirect 301 using the ".htaccess" file, if that is possible in your setup.
(2020-08-13, 17:50)Leonardo Gonzalez Wrote: [ -> ]I may have an insight on something relating to this. it appears there are two domains with different results:

ldraw.org and www.ldraw.org



With www.ldraw.org the menu button works, when using the plain domain ldraw.org the menu button does not work.

Similarly there are effects on other sections of the site, although I only checked the Parts Tracker main page (the menu button works on both here):



I used Firefox 68.11.0 on Android to check the site from my smartphone. On PC there appear to be no visible difference.

As an additional note, the bookmark I made on the website has ldraw.org I can update my bookmarks, but for the average user that wouldn't know, consider a server permanent redirect 301 using the ".htaccess" file, if that is possible in your setup.

www.ldraw.org and ldraw.org both point to the same place. The differences you're seeing are most likely stale cached versions of the pages.
(2020-08-13, 17:55)Orion Pobursky Wrote: [ -> ]www.ldraw.org and ldraw.org both point to the same place. The differences you're seeing are most likely stale cached versions of the pages.

Understood, I will do a cleanup on my phone and wait a few days before testing again.
(2020-08-13, 18:03)Leonardo Gonzalez Wrote: [ -> ]Understood, I will do a cleanup on my phone and wait a few days before testing again.

Phone OSs tend to aggressively cache webpages to, in part, reduce data usage. Since the website html only updates once in a while Im not sure this needs "fixing" by manually specifying a cache time. On iOS you can force reload cached objects by requesting the "desktop site".
(2020-08-13, 18:08)Orion Pobursky Wrote: [ -> ]Phone OSs tend to aggressively cache webpages to, in part, reduce data usage. Since the website html only updates once in a while Im not sure this needs "fixing" by manually specifying a cache time. On iOS you can force reload cached objects by requesting the "desktop site".

Firefox on Android does have the "Request Desktop Site" option, it did updated to the newer version.

I would agree that cache time on a static page like a home page is pointless, but when making UI or aesthetic changes it is always good to force cache to update at least for a week. That's what I did in the place I worked at, but it is only a suggestion.

Regarding the redirect, the site should have a single domain identity, it is ok to keep both and redirect to one agreed upon when the other is typed in. I don't know what kind of weirdness two addresses can generate on the site SEO. Thoughts?
(2020-08-03, 9:57)Chris Dee Wrote: [ -> ]How is this for starters? https://www.ldraw.org/cgi-bin/pthist3.cgi

Any more comments or opinions on this?
Pages: 1 2 3