LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: LDCad 1.6 Alpha 4 (win+linux)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Hello Roland.

First of all, I thank you much for so well working 1.5, it has helped me a lot in this hurry time; it's the editor which simply does the job well and I can work fast with. I started to think about a note "built with a help of LDCad" added to my builds labels at exhibitions Smile


Finally, I had some time to test LDCad 1.6 and here I come with my observations and ideas.

The first difference to 1.5 I saw was that "+" hotkey no longer works in the partbin, "-" still works. After some testing I found what's the problem: on the US keyboard, "+" is a sign I can get only with Shift and new hotkey machinery is confused with that. Setting the hotkey to "Shift +" is a workaround but that would probably cause "+" on numeric keyboard stop working, if I had any. So there is no way to make them both working now, as it was in 1.5.

More about hotkeys:

* it does not warn me if hotkey is already assigned (and to what), it would be nice if a simple popup window appeared, with that warning and a choice what function I want to set this hotkey to (the old one or the new one)
* could you add "alt" to the list of modifiers?
* how can I assign a hotkey to (sub)menu? For example: Alt-F for "File" menu or Shift-Alt-S for View->Editing_views->Split (Yes, I want to hide menubar and have all menus accessible via hotkeys. I have really small screen on my laptop, especially vertically.)
 
ROTSTEP editing is great feature! The button "Sample view" confused me at first, maybe "Current view" would be more understandable, but it works well in both ways: getting the view and setting it. This makes my life with LPub much easier, thanks!

Group layers feature: technically, it works. And I remember I already needed something like this several times so I really support this idea. Unfortunately the current version is very hard to use and not intuitive. So the feature itself is great and works but, please, add new GUI for that. What about hiding all technical details about layers and simply provide a submenu with a list of currently defined groups, optionally with a name? That would be much easier to use!

MPD cleanup: works and works well. Thanks for it. There is finally a way how to delete flexible parts from the model Smile

Unhide in the Source window: great feature, I like it. Unfortunately it's dangerous because the same hotkey is there for hiding and unhiding ("h") and I cannot even set them to different ones in the hotkey manager window. One of first things what happened during my testing was: I forgot I already have some hidden parts selected, their lines were out of the screen. Then I selected some visible parts and wanted to hide them. What was my surprise when another parts appeared instead!

For more reasons I believe it would be really useful if there was some visible indicator "you have something selected even it might be invisible or hard to see" - something similar to "I" icon in the bottom-right corner? For example I had some hidden parts selected, forgot about that and double-clicked on some part in the partbin. Those hidden parts were silently replaced with that part and, of course, I found that minutes and minutes later when I unhide them - and it was too late for any undo.

Mirroring feature: I did not test it much because it's probably more about missing parts metadata. What I can say is about GUI again: a selection of "X", "Y" or "Z" axis is a random shot, I really cannot remember which is which, it is not shown anywhere in GUI. If there was at least a color corresponding to the diagram of axes in the bottom-left corner, it would be easier. Better if it was shown "in place" instead of a separate popup window, something like grid is - another hotkeys for setting and showing the plane for mirroring.

Region select: great feature! Really helpful, I needed that so many times... Is there a way how to do rectangle unselect, too? The part about 3D box is very hard to use for me, I'd need a way how to see that box and rotate the view at the same time.

Random thought: what about stopping the LMB function of turning the view? I slightly remember you had this as a long-term goal (if I'm corect), it confuses me a little and it's not good for anything, RMB is here for that.

features not tested so far: BUFEXCHG, model reorganizing (embedding of unofficial parts, taking subfiles out of the file etc.), model header editing, scripting.

About scripting: one of my dreams is to make a script allowing user to select a rotation center of the part or group of parts to a specific snap point (resp. the axe of that snap object). So one can bend hinges, rotate 1xN plates on a stud, rotate Technic beams around axles etc. If you remember my video showing this. Would it be possible to work with snap points in scripts? And let the user to select it?

And maybe there would be a chance to add a function/script for making triangles. I know there is already a way how to do that with that helper you showed in one of your videos but it's too complicated and manual.

Oh. I can see how long post I created now. I hope I did not overfill the input buffer of your head  Smile  Take it as a summary of all those missing posts during all that time I was silent Big Grin
(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]First of all, I thank you much for so well working 1.5, it has helped me a lot in this hurry time; it's the editor which simply does the job well and I can work fast with. I started to think about a note "built with a help of LDCad" added to my builds labels at exhibitions Smile
Thanks, always nice to hear Smile

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]The first difference to 1.5 I saw was that "+" hotkey no longer works in the partbin, "-" still works. After some testing I found what's the problem: on the US keyboard, "+" is a sign I can get only with Shift and new hotkey machinery is confused with that. Setting the hotkey to "Shift +" is a workaround but that would probably cause "+" on numeric keyboard stop working, if I had any. So there is no way to make them both working now, as it was in 1.5.

More about hotkeys:

* it does not warn me if hotkey is already assigned (and to what), it would be nice if a simple popup window appeared, with that warning and a choice what function I want to set this hotkey to (the old one or the new one)
* could you add "alt" to the list of modifiers?
* how can I assign a hotkey to (sub)menu? For example: Alt-F for "File" menu or Shift-Alt-S for View->Editing_views->Split (Yes, I want to hide menubar and have all menus accessible via hotkeys. I have really small screen on my laptop, especially vertically.)
Some hotkey management improvements are planned for Beta 2. I never realized the + key thing as it was meant to be used with the numpad keys. Maybe I should handle the non numpad key as a normal shift-less hit, I'll have to research if wxWidgets allows for that distinction though.
I've been avoiding the alt key because it acts very different in Linux. It seems to be a system level key in some versions (focus to the program menu bar) I haven't found a way to suppress that behavior yet. Currently menus can not be assigned a hotkey but it shouldn't be too much of an hassle to add that, I'll put it on the beta 2 'nice to have' list.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]ROTSTEP editing is great feature! The button "Sample view" confused me at first, maybe "Current view" would be more understandable, but it works well in both ways: getting the view and setting it. This makes my life with LPub much easier, thanks!
I'll rewrite the hint of that button as it is a bit vague indeed.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Group layers feature: technically, it works. And I remember I already needed something like this several times so I really support this idea. Unfortunately the current version is very hard to use and not intuitive. So the feature itself is great and works but, please, add new GUI for that. What about hiding all technical details about layers and simply provide a submenu with a list of currently defined groups, optionally with a name? That would be much easier to use!
Layered groups are a bit experimental. I was planning to iron it out in Beta 2 by allowing users to name layers which will then replace the current layer 1 2 3 placeholders.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Unhide in the Source window: great feature, I like it. Unfortunately it's dangerous because the same hotkey is there for hiding and unhiding ("h") and I cannot even set them to different ones in the hotkey manager window. One of first things what happened during my testing was: I forgot I already have some hidden parts selected, their lines were out of the screen. Then I selected some visible parts and wanted to hide them. What was my surprise when another parts appeared instead!
Currently the 'h' in source window is more a visibility toggle which is indeed very confusing now you point that out. I'll make it a separate action with its own hotkey (maybe shift+h?)

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]For more reasons I believe it would be really useful if there was some visible indicator "you have something selected even it might be invisible or hard to see" - something similar to "I" icon in the bottom-right corner? For example I had some hidden parts selected, forgot about that and double-clicked on some part in the partbin. Those hidden parts were silently replaced with that part and, of course, I found that minutes and minutes later when I unhide them - and it was too late for any undo.
I could display the 'Selection contains invisible items' label as is done when e.g. a step meta is in the selection.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Mirroring feature: I did not test it much because it's probably more about missing parts metadata. What I can say is about GUI again: a selection of "X", "Y" or "Z" axis is a random shot, I really cannot remember which is which, it is not shown anywhere in GUI. If there was at least a color corresponding to the diagram of axes in the bottom-left corner, it would be easier. Better if it was shown "in place" instead of a separate popup window, something like grid is - another hotkeys for setting and showing the plane for mirroring.
X, Y, Z is shown as Red, Green, Blue lines in the compass and grid. This is somewhat of a standard I thought everybody knew that Wink I'll see if I can render the same colors in the combo box.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Region select: great feature! Really helpful, I needed that so many times... Is there a way how to do rectangle unselect, too? The part about 3D box is very hard to use for me, I'd need a way how to see that box and rotate the view at the same time.

Random thought: what about stopping the LMB function of turning the view? I slightly remember you had this as a long-term goal (if I'm corect), it confuses me a little and it's not good for anything, RMB is here for that.
The 3D part is the far clipping plane which can be moved by the scroll wheel. It should be visible by the background color overflowing part of the model. I did indeed plan to drop the left mouse button controls in faver of the region select but for some reason dropped it again, I think it had mainly to do with left mouse already being used to drag the selection.

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]About scripting: one of my dreams is to make a script allowing user to select a rotation center of the part or group of parts to a specific snap point (resp. the axe of that snap object). So one can bend hinges, rotate 1xN plates on a stud, rotate Technic beams around axles etc. If you remember my video showing this. Would it be possible to work with snap points in scripts? And let the user to select it?

And maybe there would be a chance to add a function/script for making triangles. I know there is already a way how to do that with that helper you showed in one of your videos but it's too complicated and manual.
I do want to add your snap point rotation idea at some point, I'll see if it can be done without too much of an impact to existing code (beta stage and all).


Thanks for the detailed feedback, I always like to get some insight from a users perspective as I tend to make things a bit technical at times Smile
There is one small thing I would like to see added in a future version:

I would like to be able to add 'tags' (keywords) to parts to be able to find them easier. This feature could make use of the shadow library to leave the existing files intact, but work in any other way similar to the 0! KEYWORDS that can be added to parts.

One example would be to add the tag 'cone' to the 98100 part (Brick 2x2 round sloped) to make it show up in the search results for cone without modifying the original file on disc.
(2016-12-12, 21:46)Niklas Buchmann Wrote: [ -> ]There is one small thing I would like to see added in a future version:

I would like to be able to add 'tags' (keywords) to parts to be able to find them easier. This feature could make use of the shadow library to leave the existing files intact, but work in any other way similar to the 0! KEYWORDS that can be added to parts.

One example would be to add the tag 'cone' to the 98100 part (Brick 2x2 round sloped) to make it show up in the search results for cone without modifying the original file on disc.

Nice idea, but I don't think it should use the shadow library as that isn't user oriented data (changes apply to all users).

Also currently adding a KEYWORDS line to shadow files won't make it searchable as the search bin uses the *.inv file which is generated from the non shadow part file headers only.

You could however edit the parts.inv file after it has been generated to add some keywords manually. But it might be regenerated at anytime (if some source file timestamp is > the .inv file timestamp).

The structure of parts.inv (in config folder) is fairly simple, you can open it in any text editor and do a search for 98100.dat . the following lines are the gathered stats on the part just below the update tag (e.g. 2015-02) a number is given which indicates the number of keywords (0 for 98100.dat) to add keyword(s) add the number and insert the keyword below it, e.g:

Code:
C:\Users\Public\Documents\LDraw\complete.zip\ldraw\parts\98100.dat
1451687876
offLibParts
zip
C:\Users\Public\Documents\LDraw\complete.zip
1,0,0,0
98100.dat
Brick  2 x  2 Round Sloped
Brick
2015-02
1
cone
Hi Roland, another request I read in the past, but I'm unable to find the old discussion:
Ability to specify decimal values for the rotation grid

I can't remember why you stated it wasn't possible in previous versions, but I hope it will be possible in v1.6 or maybe next release.

EDIT:
I found the old discussion, it was requested by Philippe: http://forums.ldraw.org/thread-15278-pos...l#pid15564
Yes, beeing able to specify a standard 22.5° rotation grid would be great Wink
For some reason I keep postponing this, I'll move it up on the list maybe give it a go this weekend as the final Beta 1 feature (no guarantees Smile )
(2016-12-14, 20:00)TestOne Wrote: [ -> ]I can't remember why you stated it wasn't possible in previous versions, but I hope it will be possible in v1.6 or maybe next release.

It's mainly the editing pin which used a 1 deg resolution in its gui stuff. And the 'boring' int to double code changes.

Felt bad about postponing this for so long..........
[attachment=2653]

had some time to kill Smile

Rotational steps are limited to 0.5 deg resolution though and 360 mod step must be 0.0
I updated movement stepping too, although I'm not sure when or if that is ever needed.
wow Smile
Great news, thank you very much for this addition Wink
Thanks for a detailed answer back, Roland. I add some details:


(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]I've been avoiding the alt key because it acts very different in Linux. It seems to be a system level key in some versions (focus to the program menu bar) I haven't found a way to suppress that behavior yet. Currently menus can not be assigned a hotkey but it shouldn't be too much of an hassle to add that, I'll put it on the beta 2 'nice to have' list.
I may describe this for you. There are two different issues. The first one is that, in past, the Alt key was handled differently than Shift and Control on Linux. Even you might still find some articles about that on Internet, I believe all modern desktop libraries already solved that. For example, with wxWidgets it's a matter of a choice of events. The second issue may be that somebody might configure his/her window manager to use same hotkeys for some actions. That's same as with, for example, alt-tab on Windows. But Alt-[A-Z] are usually not used for that - because even other applications use the same hotkeys (Alt-F, Alt-E, Alt-V, Alt-H for menus: File, Edit, View, Help...). In the end, it's up to the user to configure hotkeys of both LDCad and his window manager to not have conflicts... I do not know about Windows but it's extremely easy on Linux.
(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]Layered groups are a bit experimental. I was planning to iron it out in Beta 2 by allowing users to name layers which will then replace the current layer 1 2 3 placeholders.
I though about a way how the user can have a better overview of defined groups and not needing think about group layers at all, to hide this logic in GUI. However, I must say I do not have a solution for this, it's just an idea. Or, better, a wish Smile The reason is that it's very hard to remember which group is defined on which layer now. Or maybe we can keep this layer switching but add a submenu with a list of (optionally named) groups together with a layer number/name? Something like:
Code:
1. front left wheel    layer 1
2. front right wheel    layer 1
3. front axle with wheels    layer 2
...

(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Unhide in the Source window: great feature, I like it. Unfortunately it's dangerous because the same hotkey is there for hiding and unhiding ("h")...
Currently the 'h' in source window is more a visibility toggle which is indeed very confusing now you point that out. I'll make it a separate action with its own hotkey (maybe shift+h?)
Yes, much better. There would be still a conflict with original hide/unhide feature but I believe this would not be a problem if an indicator of non-empty selection will be on the screen.
(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]I could display the 'Selection contains invisible items' label as is done when e.g. a step meta is in the selection.
Yes, good idea. And I believe it would be even better if it is an icon, different for each of these two situations (set independently): "selection contains hidden parts" and "selection contains metadata lines". An icon takes much less space so they can be shown both if needed and still be on the right of "Step" indicator. And you can set up a "hover text" for them.
(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Mirroring feature...
(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]X, Y, Z is shown as Red, Green, Blue lines in the compass and grid. This is somewhat of a standard I thought everybody knew that Wink I'll see if I can render the same colors in the combo box.
And wouldn't be possible to show that plane directly in the Edit window, similarly to the grid or the far plane of the rectangle select? It would be much easier to understand, especially with local coordinates set ("o" key).

(2016-12-12, 9:27)Milan Vančura Wrote: [ -> ]Region select
(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]The 3D part is the far clipping plane which can be moved by the scroll wheel. It should be visible by the background color overflowing part of the model. I did indeed plan to drop the left mouse button controls in faver of the region select but for some reason dropped it again, I think it had mainly to do with left mouse already being used to drag the selection.
Ah, you are right. Still, it is not always easy to see what everything is selected. But I do not have any bright idea how to make GUI better in this, unfortunately. What about that "rectangle unselect" feature? That would help if one takes too much or wants to combine that like "select this rectangle without that corner".

(2016-12-12, 19:48)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]I do want to add your snap point rotation idea at some point, I'll see if it can be done without too much of an impact to existing code (beta stage and all).
Great! I may try to create that script for triangles then. (And give it to everybody - if it works Smile )
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10