LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: LDCad 1.6 Alpha 4 (win+linux)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Nice. Could you maybe add an 'MLCAD mode' toggle option that sets up the part movement keys, editing pin, and four orthographic views to be like they are in MLCAD/LDEDIT? That would be a big help to those of us making a transition from MLCAD to LDCAD. Thanks.
Got a crash during an acrobatic manipulation... I was attempting to transform a few pneumatic hose to their LQ version, and figured out it would be faster to use a search and replace in a text editor. After doing this, I saved file in the text editor, then switched back to LDCad. I was mildly surprised that LDCad didn't propose to reload file, so I closed/reopend it. Then I wanted to save file again, hoping to see file size reduction caused by LQ usage. When I pressed save button, LDCad said that my file was updated by an external application, I said "yes" to reload. Crash. Log attached...

Otherwise there is a bug in 15535s01 "~Tile  2 x  2 Round with Hole without Top Face" shadow: middle hole shoudn't be capped.
(2016-09-16, 12:33)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]Got a crash during an acrobatic manipulation... I was attempting to transform a few pneumatic hose to their LQ version, and figured out it would be faster to use a search and replace in a text editor. After doing this, I saved file in the text editor, then switched back to LDCad. I was mildly surprised that LDCad didn't propose to reload file, so I closed/reopend it. Then I wanted to save file again, hoping to see file size reduction caused by LQ usage. When I pressed save button, LDCad said that my file was updated by an external application, I said "yes" to reload. Crash. Log attached...

Otherwise there is a bug in 15535s01 "~Tile  2 x  2 Round with Hole without Top Face" shadow: middle hole shoudn't be capped.

I think what happened here is: somehow the app focus event was missed, then the manual reload invalidated the cached file objects and finally a second app focus tried to reload the now non existing objects. Smile

I'll look into this but it might be hard to replicate, I can probably easily prevent it from using those invalid objects though.
(2016-09-16, 12:33)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]I was attempting to transform a few pneumatic hose to their LQ version, and figured out it would be faster to use a search and replace in a text editor.

Also after reloading you might need to force a regeneration of all parts by ctrl+shift+f5 or some of them might still use the HQ ldraw fallbackcode.
Quote: All other parts will need shadow information to tell the feature how to mirror and or what the counter part is. I added this information for the technic panels and some technic pins. I will add more during the beta stage. Any help on this is also appreciated [Image: smile.png]
Where do I find examples/documentation for this? I just noticed that mirroring doesn't work with Technic L-beams...
(2016-09-19, 14:12)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]
Quote: All other parts will need shadow information to tell the feature how to mirror and or what the counter part is. I added this information for the technic panels and some technic pins. I will add more during the beta stage. Any help on this is also appreciated [Image: smile.png]
Where do I find examples/documentation for this? I just noticed that mirroring doesn't work with Technic L-beams...

L-Beams need a

Code:
0 !LDCAD MIRROR_INFO [baseFlip=Y]

Line, this because the default base flip axis is X.

The default flip axis must be a symmetrical one. This is needed so the feature can flip two axis to prevents matrix problems.

The meta has a property editor so you can edit just like the snap info, for more examples see the technic panels and e.g. the technic axle pin .

I choose the x-axis as the default as most of the library seems to be x-axis neutral but technic parts are an exception. I'll add info for them in the beta version though.
(2016-09-19, 14:12)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]
Quote: All other parts will need shadow information to tell the feature how to mirror and or what the counter part is. I added this information for the technic panels and some technic pins. I will add more during the beta stage. Any help on this is also appreciated [Image: smile.png]
Where do I find examples/documentation for this? I just noticed that mirroring doesn't work with Technic L-beams...
I've added info to the parts in the beams group, attached are the changed shadow files.
(2016-09-16, 18:41)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-09-16, 12:33)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]I was attempting to transform a few pneumatic hose to their LQ version, and figured out it would be faster to use a search and replace in a text editor.

Also after reloading you might need to force a regeneration of all parts by ctrl+shift+f5 or some of them might still use the HQ ldraw fallbackcode.
Just noticed an issue with LQ pneumatic hose: generated substitution code is BFC inverted, BFC INVERTNEXT is applied to outer 4-4cyli instead of inner one. I checked 166.dat in my library, it's OK...
(edit): found the (not guilty) culprit: 166.dat is CW, not CCW. But changing from CW to CCW should invert all surfaces (tris and quads), not primitives! Anyway, changing 166 to CCW and regenerate all parts solved the issue Wink
(2016-09-20, 7:41)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: [ -> ]Just noticed an issue with LQ pneumatic hose: generated substitution code is BFC inverted, BFC INVERTNEXT is applied to outer 4-4cyli instead of inner one. I checked 166.dat in my library, it's OK...
(edit): found the (not guilty) culprit: 166.dat is CW, not CCW. But changing from CW to CCW should invert all surfaces (tris and quads), not primitives! Anyway, changing 166 to CCW and regenerate all parts solved the issue Wink

Thanks Philo, as 166 is an official part you can also uncheck 'inline donor references' in the path skin properties.

This will disable the bug related part of generation and remove the need to embed a modified 166 into the mpd (as I suspect you did?).

It will also reduce filesize a bit more, it being enabled is purely an copy paste action on my side while making the template anyway Smile
(2016-09-20, 19:11)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks Philo, as 166 is an official part you can also uncheck 'inline donor references' in the path skin properties.

This will disable the bug related part of generation and remove the need to embed a modified 166 into the mpd (as I suspect you did?).

It will also reduce filesize a bit more, it being enabled is purely an copy paste action on my side while making the template anyway Smile
No, I wasn't smart enough to think of this possibility Wink - Done now.
BTW, what's the intended purpose of this inlining capability?
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10