LDraw.org Discussion Forums
[LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Parts Author Tools (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-24.html)
+--- Thread: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) (/thread-26713.html)

Pages: 1 2


[LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Nils Schmidt - 2022-09-30

Hi,

this release will add five small improvements and fixes one bug regarding the "Save As..." button.

[Image: imgDuke2.png]

As always, you can download LDPE from this page:

http://nilsschmidt1337.github.io/ldparteditor/

Changelog:

(5 new features and 1 bug fix)

With this release you will be able to...
  • ...keep all files from the initial temporary project on application restart.
  • ...see the D value (distance) of the distance meter not only shown in "LDU" but also in "mm" and "Stud".
  • ...copy hint/error/warning messages to the clipboard to paste it to the PartsTracker.
  • ...have a customizable line size button where you can set the thickness of the line for yourself (Ctrl+Click on a line size button).
  • ...use more line size buttons (five).

The following critical issues were fixed:

  1. "Save as..." removed sometimes a correct directory prefix (e.g. "48\") from the file header.

The program was tested intensively with "real world" files.
However, something can go wrong in about 140.000 lines of code.

Installation on Windows:

  1. Download and extract LDPartEditor_win32_x64.zip
  2. Run LDPartEditor-1.8.63.msi
  3. Start LDPartEditor from the start menu
Installation on Linux:

  1. Download and extract LDPartEditor_linux_x64.zip
  2. Install ldparteditor_1.8.63-1_amd64.deb
  3. Start LDPartEditor from the menu or via launcher
Installation on Mac OS X:

  1. Download and extract LDPartEditor_mac_x64.zip
  2. Mount LDPartEditor-1.8.63.dmg
  3. Drag LDPartEditor.app to the Applications folder
  4. Copy ldparteditor.sh to your home folder
        4a. Open a Terminal.app and run ./ldparteditor.sh
        4b. Or open a Terminal.app and run /Applications/LDPartEditor.app/Contents/MacOS/LDPartEditor

I listen carefully to your requests and possible complaints. Please leave me a message, with your thoughts and wishes to further improve the software.

LDPE is a 3D CAD application: The overall system requirements are higher. While I recommend to use a powerful 64-bit multicore system, it could be possible, to run LDPE on older machines as well.

System Requirements:

Minimum System Requirements:
  • OpenGL 2.1 compatible Graphics Card
  • Operating System (64-bit): Windows [7 or newer], Linux [e.g. Ubuntu Linux >=14.4], Mac OS X [>=10.6]
  • CPU: Multicore-Processor e.g. Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon II (>2.0Ghz)
  • RAM: 4GB
  • Video-Memory: 1 GB
  • Free Disk Space: 100 MB
Recommended Requirements:
  • Operating System (64bit): Windows 7,8,10, Linux [e.g. Ubuntu Linux >=14.4], Mac OS X [>=10.6]
  • OpenGL 3.3 compatible Graphics Card
  • CPU: Multicore-Processor with 4 cores (or more)
  • RAM: >4 GB
  • Video-Memory: >1 GB
  • Free Disk Space: 512 MB
  • For a faster start, LDPartEditor and the LDraw™ library should be installed on an SSD.



RE: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Willy Tschager - 2022-10-01

(2022-09-30, 21:21)Nils Schmidt Wrote:
  • ...see the D value (distance) of the distance meter not only shown in "LDU" but also in "mm" and "Stud".
  • ...copy hint/error/warning messages to the clipboard to paste it to the PartsTracker.
  • ...have a customizable line size button where you can set the thickness of the line for yourself (Ctrl+Click on a line size button).
  • ...use more line size buttons (five).

You should have called it "Willy"-Edition Big Grin

w.


RE: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Willy Tschager - 2022-10-01

As a user I'd like to have the "Copy" command in the contextual of the "Problems" tab, mirrored to the icon bar at the bottom of the tab.

w.


RE: [LDPE] / Rectifier - Philippe Hurbain - 2022-10-06

- Following this review I think it would be good to set "Rectifier does not convert quad to rect when the quad has adjacent condline(s). This may improve smooth shading of the part." as default option of Rectifier tool.

- A more personal wish: I'd like "verbose" option be common to all tools, and be remembered between sessions.


RE: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Willy Tschager - 2022-10-17

Bug:

The tabs in the 3D editor can't be moved around any longer. Text editor not affected.

w.


"Copy" command for "Problems" tab - Nils Schmidt - 2022-10-18

(2022-10-01, 13:24)Willy Tschager Wrote: As a user I'd like to have the "Copy" command in the contextual of the "Problems" tab, mirrored to the icon bar at the bottom of the tab.

w.

Thanks Willy, I created an issue for the next release (#983).


RE: [LDPE] / Rectifier + Tool verbosity - Nils Schmidt - 2022-10-18

(2022-10-06, 14:41)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: - Following this review I think it would be good to set "Rectifier does not convert quad to rect when the quad has adjacent condline(s). This may improve smooth shading of the part." as default option of Rectifier tool.

- A more personal wish: I'd like "verbose" option be common to all tools, and be remembered between sessions.

Thanks Philo, I created issue #939 (Rectifier) and #940 (verbosity).


RE: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Nils Schmidt - 2022-10-18

(2022-10-17, 16:19)Willy Tschager Wrote: Bug:

The tabs in the 3D editor can't be moved around any longer. Text editor not affected.

w.

I created issue #941.

The tabs in the 3D editor were always at fixed position as far as I know.
This bug occurs on older versions of LDPE, too.


RE: [LDPE] 1.8.63 Released (usability / custom line size / bug fixes) - Max Murtazin - 2022-10-31

Nils, could you add an option to multiply values directly in lines, not just in constants? 

I mean, do something like this: 2 24 0 0 0 1*2 3*4 5*6

Would find this option pretty helpful


Multiply values directly in lines? - Nils Schmidt - 2022-11-10

(2022-10-31, 16:54)Max Murtazin Wrote: Nils, could you add an option to multiply values directly in lines, not just in constants? 

I mean, do something like this: 2 24 0 0 0 1*2 3*4 5*6

Would find this option pretty helpful

Hi Max,

how should I deal with warnings, since this line is not allowed in an official file?
It is not so easy to interpret each number as a potential calculation and show a warning if the value is calculated and what its result is.

I would rather like to introduce other features for the text editor instead.
One thing I wanted to do a long time ago is for example auto-completion in the text editor, then you don't need to remember all meta commands anymore and can type faster.

Cheers,
Nils