LDraw.org Discussion Forums
[LDCad] Some Gear Rotations are "disconnected" - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: LDraw Editors and Viewers (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: [LDCad] Some Gear Rotations are "disconnected" (/thread-24247.html)

Some Gear Rotations are "disconnected" - NikosSprocket - 2020-10-18

Hello

I am new with LDCad (but not with CADD) and I am baffled with the following issue.

For some gears, when I try to rotate them so the teeth mess correctly, the hub and the teeth are "disconnected"!

For example for 32269 if I rotate it clockwise the hub will follow my rotation but the teeth will rotate counter-clockwise!
Another example for 3648b I can only rotate the hub but not the teeth.

I have tried both using the GUI rotation {R} and the entry {Ctr-r} with the same result.

Am I missing something?

Nikos

RE: Some Gear Rotations are "disconnected" - Philippe Hurbain - 2020-10-18

Isn't it an illusion caused by rotation grid stepping, similar to car wheels that seem to rotate backwards when sampled at 25 frames per second?

RE: Some Gear Rotations are "disconnected" - Owen Dive - 2020-10-18

(2020-10-18, 7:23)NikosSprocket Wrote: Hello

I am new with LDCad (but not with CADD) and I am baffled with the following issue.

For some gears, when I try to rotate them so the teeth mess correctly, the hub and the teeth are "disconnected"!

For example for 32269 if I rotate it clockwise the hub will follow my rotation but the teeth will rotate counter-clockwise!
Another example for 3648b I can only rotate the hub but not the teeth.

I have tried both using the GUI rotation {R} and the entry {Ctr-r} with the same result.

Am I missing something?

Nikos

I have long since given up making sure my gears meshed properly when building digitally.