LDraw.org Discussion Forums
LeoCAD not fully loading model - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: LDraw Editors and Viewers (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: LeoCAD not fully loading model (/thread-23762.html)

Pages: 1 2


LeoCAD not fully loading model - Jaco van der Molen - 2019-11-22

Hi all,

I have a model of 15k+ parts and 200+ submodels that does not fully load in LeoCAD. It loads submodels 1 to 24 and about 900 bricks (very fast BTW!).
This is the case on both on my Macbook and 2 Windows PC/Laptops

The model loads fine in LDCad (and MLCad for that matter).

What could be wrong?

If someone is willing to take a look I can share the model file.

Thanks.

Jaco


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Philippe Hurbain - 2019-11-22

(2019-11-22, 8:31)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: If someone is willing to take a look I can share the model file.
Yup!


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Jaco van der Molen - 2019-11-22

(2019-11-22, 8:58)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Yup!

Thanks. I pm'd you.

BTW MPDCenter is not loading the model either. Stops responding at "Check for detailed report..."

There might be something wrong with the file, though as said LDCad and MLCad have no trouble loading it and neither do LDView and LPub3D...


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Leonardo Zide - 2019-11-25

There are no parts limits, LeoCAD even loads datsville correctly. If you send me the model I'll take a look.


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Jaco van der Molen - 2019-11-26

(2019-11-25, 22:12)Leonardo Zide Wrote: There are no parts limits, LeoCAD even loads datsville correctly. If you send me the model I'll take a look.

Thanks Leonarde, but the problem has been found.
It turned out that LeoCad cannot handle the 0 NOFILE meta or duplicated ones.
Just removing all 0 NOFILE meta's the model loads fine.

However still: the file does not load in MPDCenter...


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Philippe Hurbain - 2019-11-26

(2019-11-26, 7:01)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: It turned out that LeoCad cannot handle the 0 NOFILE meta or duplicated ones.
Just removing all 0 NOFILE meta's the model loads fine.
More specifically, LeoCAD stops loading the file if it encounters two successive 0 NOFILE metas.

Quote:However still: the file does not load in MPDCenter...
Works fine here, with zero or one and only one 0 NOFILE at the end of each submodel.


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Jaco van der Molen - 2019-11-26

(2019-11-26, 7:48)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: More specifically, LeoCAD stops loading the file if it encounters two successive 0 NOFILE metas.

Yes. sorry ;-)

(2019-11-26, 7:48)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Works fine here, with zero or one and only one 0 NOFILE at the end of each submodel.

OK, it turned out it takes MPDCenter more than 2 minutes to load the file, then another 6 minutes at least to parse and then even more minutes to respond to anything.

After tweaking a bit with some options it is much quicker.
I unchecked:
- Show preview image
- Check online for official parts
- Create detailed report

That helped a little.
I guess creating the preview image takes a long time.

Parsing the file however, still takes a few minutes.
But when it has done that, the rest of the actions work quite smooth


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Philippe Hurbain - 2019-11-26

Quote:Parsing the file however, still takes a few minutes.
But when it has done that, the rest of the actions work quite smooth
Ah... Takes only 3-4 seconds here (and that's probably no thanks to power of my computer which is 10 years old!). Since I couldn't find the "Create detailed report" option, I checked and had an old 2.3.7 version of MPDCenter. So I updated to the latest 2.5.1 and indeed it takes forever if I don't uncheck "Create detailed report", but if I do it takes the same time as 2.3.7. Since 2.3.7 did provide a report, I switched back to old version (I can send it to you if you want to try)


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Leonardo Zide - 2019-11-26

(2019-11-26, 7:01)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Thanks Leonarde, but the problem has been found.
It turned out that LeoCad cannot handle the 0 NOFILE meta or duplicated ones.
Just removing all 0 NOFILE meta's the model loads fine.

However still: the file does not load in MPDCenter...


I've checked in a fix for error parsing duplicate NOFILE statements.

https://github.com/leozide/leocad/commit/9e41edfef0b7eee0c2a49dfb5e5d07c51c5cec6c


RE: LeoCAD not fully loading model - Jaco van der Molen - 2019-11-26

(2019-11-26, 13:00)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Ah... Takes only 3-4 seconds here (and that's probably no thanks to power of my computer which is 10 years old!). Since I couldn't find the "Create detailed report" option, I checked and had an old 2.3.7 version of MPDCenter. So I updated to the latest 2.5.1 and indeed it takes forever if I don't uncheck "Create detailed report", but if I do it takes the same time as 2.3.7. Since 2.3.7 did provide a report, I switched back to old version (I can send it to you if you want to try)

OK, please share this old version of MPD Center. Thanks.