LDraw.org Discussion Forums
Using LDCad - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: LDraw Editors and Viewers (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: Using LDCad (/thread-22631.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6


Using LDCad - Michael Horvath - 2017-12-24

Couple of questions about LDCad.

* How do I add a part or submodel that is located in the same directory (or some arbitrary directory) as the model I am working on? I can't figure out which menu option does this. Thanks.
* How do I bandbox select multiple parts in a model using the mouse?
* How do I select a part using the mouse if the part has no triangles or quads, and only edge lines?


RE: Using LDCad - Philippe Hurbain - 2017-12-24

1) Drag and drop file on the opened model, then "use file by reference"
2) Control + right mouse button drag
3) No simple way (even area select above doesn't work). The only method I see is to use source window (view -> new source window)


RE: Using LDCad - Roland Melkert - 2017-12-24

(2017-12-24, 12:32)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: 1) Drag and drop file on the opened model, then "use file by reference"
2) Control + right mouse button drag
3) No simple way (even area select above doesn't work). The only method I see is to use source window (view -> new source window)

3: is problematic because (region) selection only tests triangles for intersection. thanks for reminding me I need to address that in 2.0.


RE: Using LDCad - Michael Horvath - 2017-12-25

(2017-12-24, 12:32)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: 1) Drag and drop file on the opened model, then "use file by reference"
2) Control + right mouse button drag
3) No simple way (even area select above doesn't work). The only method I see is to use source window (view -> new source window)

1. Drag and drop from where?
2. This is not working for me. It just pans the camera around the scene.
3. Thanks.


RE: Using LDCad - Philippe Hurbain - 2017-12-25

Drag and drop from Windows file explorer. Guess it works the same on Linux, but not sure Wink


RE: Using LDCad - Michael Horvath - 2017-12-25

(2017-12-25, 8:02)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Drag and drop from Windows file explorer. Guess it works the same on Linux, but not sure Wink

This is odd, but okay.


RE: Using LDCad - Michael Horvath - 2018-01-07

Is there a way to make it so that you can only select the model at the current nesting level instead of sub-sub-sub-models? E.g. I don't always want to select a brick in a house in a town, etc. Thanks.


RE: Using LDCad - Michael Horvath - 2018-01-07

(2017-12-24, 18:58)Roland Melkert Wrote:
(2017-12-24, 12:32)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: 1) Drag and drop file on the opened model, then "use file by reference"
2) Control + right mouse button drag
3) No simple way (even area select above doesn't work). The only method I see is to use source window (view -> new source window)

3: is problematic because (region) selection only tests triangles for intersection. thanks for reminding me I need to address that in 2.0.

Still can't figure out #2. CTRL + RMB is panning my camera, not bandbox selecting.


RE: Using LDCad - Roland Melkert - 2018-01-07

(2018-01-07, 21:20)Michael Horvath Wrote: Is there a way to make it so that you can only select the model at the current nesting level instead of sub-sub-sub-models? E.g. I don't always want to select a brick in a house in a town, etc. Thanks.

Yes by using 'exclusion' as described in the "Nested editing" section of:
http://www.melkert.net/LDCad/docs/advEdit


You can also select them by using the source window but with as many lines as in datsville it will probably be hard to find them.


RE: Using LDCad - Roland Melkert - 2018-01-07

(2018-01-07, 21:27)Michael Horvath Wrote: Still can't figure out #2. CTRL + RMB is panning my camera, not bandbox selecting.
Are you using 1.6a?, as this feature is added recently.