LDraw.org Discussion Forums
Exporting problem - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: General (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-12.html)
+--- Forum: Help (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: Exporting problem (/thread-22234.html)



Exporting problem - Jonah - 2017-07-21

Hi, I need some help. I use Stud.io to build, but I do use the LDraw programs. Here is my problem. I build my model in Stud.io containing sub-models, and then I export it. I then open LIC and load my model, and all the sub-models are missing. But, if I load it into LPub3D, it works just fine and the sub-models are there. When I build something with sub-models in MLCad and load it into LIC, all the sub-models are there(Sub-models also disappear when I import my model into MLCad from Stud.io). I just can't figure out where the problem is, if it's my computer or if it's Stud.io. This started happing to me when I updated Stud.io to version 1.0.0_86(Really wish I didn't) and so far haven't been able to get any help from them...

Many thanks to any help provided.


RE: Exporting problem - Philippe Hurbain - 2017-07-21

There must be something non-standard with stud.io export... Should not be all wrong if lpub3d understand it. Can you share one of these exported files ?


RE: Exporting problem - Roland Melkert - 2017-07-21

(2017-07-21, 11:55)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: There must be something non-standard with stud.io export... Should not be all wrong if lpub3d understand it. Can you share one of these exported files ?

Far I know Stud.io is LDraw just zipped, so why does it change files during an export ?


RE: Exporting problem - Jonah - 2017-07-22

(2017-07-21, 11:55)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: There must be something non-standard with stud.io export... Should not be all wrong if lpub3d understand it. Can you share one of these exported files ?
Here is one of the files. [attachment=2852] I forgot mention that I've also had this error, There is no disk in the drive. Please insent a disk into drive F:. when I open LIC. I click it away 8 to 9 times and LIC opens.


RE: Exporting problem - Philippe Hurbain - 2017-07-22

(2017-07-22, 3:52)Jonah Wrote:
(2017-07-21, 11:55)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: There must be something non-standard with stud.io export... Should not be all wrong if lpub3d understand it. Can you share one of these exported files ?
Here is one of the files.  I forgot mention that I've also had this error, There is no disk in the drive. Please insent a disk into drive F:. when I open LIC. I click it away 8 to 9 times and LIC opens.
Both problems seem to come from LIC... I had a cursory look at your file, everything look ok (but I don't have here all my tools!). Could be as simple as blank spaces in subfile names... (Eg "submodel group 1") Some LDraw tools don't like that.


RE: Exporting problem - Philippe Hurbain - 2017-07-22

Forgot to ask... Maybe you still have a file exported with old version of stud.io that worked with LIC? That would help to spot the difference... and the problem!


RE: Exporting problem - Jonah - 2017-07-23

(2017-07-22, 8:37)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Forgot to ask... Maybe you still have a file exported with old version of stud.io that worked with LIC? That would help to spot the difference... and the problem!
I did some more playing around with it, and finally figured out how to update LIC from GitHub to version 3.2(I was using 3.0 that came with LDraw installer). I got it to work and had all my sub-models. Now when I open the new version and try to import a model, it gets stuck at 0%. I guess there's no problem with the files, and it's just LIC? Must be a bug that's causing that?  Undecided