[LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released - Printable Version +- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org) +-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: Parts Author Tools (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-24.html) +--- Thread: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released (/thread-21672.html) |
[LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-22 Hi :) you wanted some tabs? Version 0.8.19 delivers it... ;) As always, you can download LDPE from this page: http://nilsschmidt1337.github.io/ldparteditor/ Changelog: (5 new features and 4 bug fixes) With this release you will be able to...
The following critical issues were fixed:
What will the next release 0.8.20 deliver? Bug fixes and improvements for the new tab feature... The program was tested intensively with "real world" files. However, it is still a beta version and something can go wrong in about 100.000 lines of code. Make sure that you choose the right architecture for your OS and Java Virtual Machine (JVM) (64bit or 32bit). A short guide how to check if a 64bit JVM is installed on your system is located at the bottom of this message.
You can search for updates if you do the following steps:
LDPE is a 3D CAD application: The overall system requirements are higher. While I recommend to use a powerful 64-bit multicore system, it could be possible, to run LDPE on older machines as well. System Requirements: Minimum System Requirements:
How to check your JVM version (32- or 64-bit): -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- You can try on the command line: Code: java -d64 version If it's not a 64-bit version, you'll get a message that looks like: Code: This Java instance does not support a 64-bit JVM. Please install the desired version. In general, I recommend to install the 64-bit version of the JVM for Java 8. Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-23 I make some very promising progress... There is an "easy" solution for the feature request from Willy. I had to do a lot of brainstorming for this... but now you'll get it with release 0.8.20 in the next 10-14 days. https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-fyrNjmi8pRM/V5PuSwsL4tI/AAAAAAAAAsI/w6x1V4MiM1ICMqCTVfSU3PuauYBlWqxVACL0B/w1037-h921-no/3dAndTextSameWindow.PNG Feature is complete: Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24 I finished the implementation of Willy Tschager's feature request. There are three possible configurations (located in the options dialog):
RE: Feature is complete: Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Magnus Forsberg - 2016-07-24 (2016-07-24, 12:55)Nils Schmidt Wrote: I finished the implementation of Willy Tschager's feature request. Looks very good, as long as I get to resize the witdth of the windows. I guess this also means that it is now possible to minimize LDPE with a single click in the taskbar? Bug report:
Feature requests:
How is the background picture supposed to work? It is only visible until I try to edit something in the 3D editor for the first time. Then it becomes invisible until I choose to set the view to exact 90 degrees against the plane of the picture. FAQ / BG Picture / Mirror - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24 (2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Looks very good, as long as I get to resize the witdth of the windows. Yes, you can resize the width and it is now possible to minimize LDPE with one click. The old window arrangement is still supported. (2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Bug report: I created two issues (#365, #366) for this bug. It is, in fact, something more: A GUI design flaw and a bug. LDPE has a lot mode switches. One mode switch is very important for the mesh manipulation. It is called "Move Adjacent Data": When this switch is active, the transformation of a selected vertex will affect all adjacent objects (triangles, lines, etc. with this vertex). So... if you copy something, paste it and transform it (while "Move Adjacent Data" is active) the original data gets mirrored! (2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Feature requests: I will see what I can do (#363, #364) (2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: How is the background picture supposed to work? This is how it is supposed to work :) You can adjust the axis rotation parameters to change the plane of the image (=rotate the image). Why did the image disappear? An image is normally useless for other viewing angles since the 3D model will no longer "match" to the image. Code: 0 !LPE PNG [X-Coord] [Y-Coord] [Z-Coord] [X-Axis Rotation] [Y-Axis Rotation] [Z-Axis Rotation] [Scale X] [ScaleY] [Path] Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24 Magnus Forsberg Wrote:The error described by Willy Tschager here is back. The cursor jumps ahead after I try to edit a value in a vertice, in the text editor.I am not able to reproduce this error. RE: Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? - Magnus Forsberg - 2016-07-24 (2016-07-24, 19:30)Nils Schmidt Wrote:Magnus Forsberg Wrote:The error described by Willy Tschager here is back. The cursor jumps ahead after I try to edit a value in a vertice, in the text editor.I am not able to reproduce this error. OK, maybe not exactly the same error, but something is definitely wrong in the sync editor. If I, like Willy, selects the decimals in a vertice and starts typing something else, it looks OK. But if I click Delete, the cursor jumps two steps into the next value. And the same happens if I click Backspace. Code: 2 24 -1.0566839599609375 -.108887939453125 -5.0921923828125 -1.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125 If I then start typing at that position, more strange things happen. If I choose all the decimals of the last value (the z-value), the cursor jumps out of the sync editor box, and if I then type a new digit there, the entire first vertice gets replaced with the digits of the next vertice. Here I typed a "5" Code: 2 24 -51.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125 -1.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125 RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released (Tabs in 3D Editor / Smooth / bugfix) - Philippe Hurbain - 2016-07-28 For the record... I made this part (granted, simple one!) using LDPE on a puny old XP laptop with a 1.6 GHz Core Duo processor / 1Gb Ram. Starting LDPE on this machine takes a hell of a time, but after that it runs rather smoothly! RE: Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? (Solved) - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-28 Thanks! I was able to fix this. The solution will be included in version 0.8.20. LDPE and Windows XP - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-28 (2016-07-28, 18:36)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: For the record... I made this part (granted, simple one!) using LDPE on a puny old XP laptop with a 1.6 GHz Core Duo processor / 1Gb Ram. Starting LDPE on this machine takes a hell of a time, but after that it runs rather smoothly! Even with my machine from hell (i7 3770k / 16GB RAM / 2x GTX 1080 SLI / 512GB+480GB SSD) it takes forever (40s) to start LDPE on my Win XP Virtual Machine... RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19: deselection inconsistency - Philippe Hurbain - 2016-07-29 Inconsistency/annoyances with multiple selections: - if I want to select multiple elements of same type, I must maintain ctrl key pressed to add to existing selection, and when clicking on a new element without holding ctrl, existing selection is lost. This is the expected behaviour. BUT an existing selection is NOT cleared if I change element type. eg. if I select a primitive, change type to surface and click (without ctrl) on a surface both the primitive and surface get selected. - As a user I want that drawing a selection marquee (with ctrl pressed) only adds to selection, instead of toggling selected elements. Deselecting elements should be done only with ctrl+click, not ctrl+drag RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released (Tabs in 3D Editor / Smooth / bugfix) - Willy Tschager - 2016-07-29 Feature request of the day: * As a user I'd like to have the "Last opened Files/Projects" moved to the "New Part - Open Part - ..." toolbar * As a user I'd like to decide if the T-JunctionFinder should also fix the part or just show me the issues. A perfectly legal code like this: Code: 0 BFC CERTIFY CCW Bug of the day: * Open a part * Close it in the Text editor - it will still be loaded in the 3D * Clicking on the tab will reopen it in the Text BUT * Selecting it from the parts tree in 3D instead will launch a new Text window Thanks, w. (Who's trying to get used to the fine tabs) RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19: deselection inconsistency - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-29 (2016-07-29, 19:17)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Inconsistency/annoyances with multiple selections: I created two issues (#372, #373) for this problem. Quote:...BUT an existing selection is NOT cleared if I change element type. Yes, I know this. This behaviour is intented. It has its benefits and drawbacks. I will find a way to fulfill your request and keep the old behaviour somehow working. TJunctionFinder (Find only) / Tabs VS Parts Tree - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-29 "Open *.dat file" misbehaviour (tab vs parts tree) As a user I'd like to decide if the T-JunctionFinder should also fix the part or just show the issues As a user I'd like to have the "Last opened Files/Projects" moved to the "New Part - Open Part - ..." toolbar RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19: deselection inconsistency - Philippe Hurbain - 2016-07-30 (2016-07-29, 21:32)Nils Schmidt Wrote: Yes, I know this. This behaviour is intented. It has its benefits and drawbacks. Just to make it clear: I don't want changing type to clear selection - as you say it's useful! What I want is that after changing type if I click on an element without holding ctrl, previous selection gets cleared but if I hold ctlr that element is added to selection. This is just the same behaviour as I would get without changing type. Currently selection clear is not done after element change if I click on an element witout ctrl pressed. RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19: deselection inconsistency - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-30 (2016-07-30, 6:18)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: Just to make it clear: I don't want changing type to clear selection - as you say it's useful! What I want is that after changing type if I click on an element without holding ctrl, previous selection gets cleared but if I hold ctlr that element is added to selection. This is just the same behaviour as I would get without changing type. Currently selection clear is not done after element change if I click on an element witout ctrl pressed. Now I understand. To put it in one sentence: "As a user I want that the existing selection is cleared if nothing was selected and Ctrl was not pressed." The implementation is done. RE: TJunctionFinder (Find only) / Tabs VS Parts Tree - Willy Tschager - 2016-07-30 (2016-07-29, 21:38)Nils Schmidt Wrote: As a user I'd like to have the "Last opened Files/Projects" moved to the "New Part - Open Part - ..." toolbar Just to make it clear. What I'm looking for is just moving the icon: LDPE1.png (Size: 13.4 KB / Downloads: 55) w. RE: TJunctionFinder (Find only) / Tabs VS Parts Tree - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-30 Done RE: TJunctionFinder (Find only) / Tabs VS Parts Tree - Willy Tschager - 2016-07-30 Goooood boy w. [Bug: Tabs VS Parts Tree] I need more info! - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-30 (2016-07-30, 11:10)Willy Tschager Wrote: Bug of the day: Willy, I need really more info about this bug... ;) edit: I possibly fixed this... wait for 0.8.20... RE: LDPE and Windows XP - Philippe Hurbain - 2016-08-02 (2016-07-28, 21:21)Nils Schmidt Wrote:Still testing the limits of LDPE on my low end laptop (or is it testing the limits of the laptop with LDPE? )(2016-07-28, 18:36)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: For the record... I made this part (granted, simple one!) using LDPE on a puny old XP laptop with a 1.6 GHz Core Duo processor / 1Gb Ram. Starting LDPE on this machine takes a hell of a time, but after that it runs rather smoothly! I made this much more complex part http://www.ldraw.org/cgi-bin/ptdetail.cgi?f=parts/24121.dat on the same setup, and as expected I experienced slow downs as the part built up in complexity. Especially on Undo and save part. I guess the main problem is the cramped Ram space? RE: LDPE and Windows XP - Nils Schmidt - 2016-08-03 (2016-08-02, 7:44)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: ... I experienced slow downs as the part built up in complexity. Especially on Undo and save part. I guess the main problem is the cramped Ram space? No RAM bottleneck, ... undo/redo and save can be very CPU intensive :) |