LDraw.org Discussion Forums
[LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Parts Author Tools (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-24.html)
+--- Thread: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released (/thread-21672.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


[LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-22

Hi :)
you wanted some tabs? Version 0.8.19 delivers it... ;)

[Image: imgDuke2.png]
As always, you can download LDPE from this page:
http://nilsschmidt1337.github.io/ldparteditor/

Changelog:
(5 new features and 4 bug fixes)

With this release you will be able to...
  • ...use tabs in the 3D editor along with the tree on the left side.
  • ...hit a button to synchronise the tab selection from tabs in the 3D editor with the text editor.
  • ...see a dialog when you try to re-load an unsaved file again.
  • ...smooth a set of vertices (with realtime preview)
  • ...access the colour palette functions (load / save / reset) from a sub-menu.
  • ...benefit from little performance improvements / refactoring.

The following critical issues were fixed:


  1. [Recurring] "Conditional Control Point Vertices" caused flickering on multiple views.
  2. Annoying mouse issues with the manipulator.
  3. The selection highlight feature in the text editor was sometimes not synchronised with the 3D view.
  4. [CSG] Rotating a part at 90 degree: It got undesired 0.0 digits.
  5. One manipulator icon was a duplicate.

What will the next release 0.8.20 deliver? Bug fixes and improvements for the new tab feature...



The program was tested intensively with "real world" files.
However, it is still a beta version and something can go wrong in about 100.000 lines of code.

Make sure that you choose the right architecture for your OS and Java Virtual Machine (JVM) (64bit or 32bit).
A short guide how to check if a 64bit JVM is installed on your system is located at the bottom of this message.

  1. Download the zip-Archive
  2. Extract the archive content to the location of your choice
  3. On windows, double-click "run.bat" to start LDPE.
  4. On linux/mac, you have to excecute the shell script "run.sh" to start LDPE.
Please note that this software is in the beta stage. Although, LDPE 0.8.19 was tested, there are already known issues  for this release. There is a potential risk of data loss.

You can search for updates if you do the following steps:

  1. On windows, double-click "update.bat" to search for updates.
  2. On linux/mac, you have to excecute the shell script "update.sh".
I listen carefully to your requests and possible complaints. Please leave me a message, with your thoughts and wishes to further improve the software.

LDPE is a 3D CAD application: The overall system requirements are higher. While I recommend to use a powerful 64-bit multicore system, it could be possible, to run LDPE on older machines as well.

System Requirements:

Minimum System Requirements:
  • Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 1.8
  • OpenGL 2.1 compatible Graphics Card
  • Operating System (32/64bit): Windows [XP; Vista; 7 or newer], Mac OS X [>=10.6], Linux [e.g. Ubuntu Linux >=10.4]
  • CPU: Multicore-Processor e.g. Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon II (>2.0Ghz)
  • RAM: 4GB
  • Video-Memory: 512 MB
  • Free Disk Space: 100 MB
Recommended Requirements:
  • Operating System (64bit): Windows 7, Mac OS X [>=10.6], Linux [e.g. Ubuntu Linux >=10.4]
  • CPU: Multicore-Processor with 4 cores (or more)
  • RAM: >4 GB
  • Video-Memory: >=1 GB
  • Free Disk Space: 512 MB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to check your JVM version (32- or 64-bit):
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You can try on the command line:

Code:
java -d64 version

If it's not a 64-bit version, you'll get a message that looks like:

Code:
This Java instance does not support a 64-bit JVM. Please install the desired version.

In general, I recommend to install the 64-bit version of the JVM for Java 8.


Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-23

I make some very promising progress...
There is an "easy" solution for the feature request from Willy.
I had to do a lot of brainstorming for this... but now you'll get it with release 0.8.20 in the next 10-14 days.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-fyrNjmi8pRM/V5PuSwsL4tI/AAAAAAAAAsI/w6x1V4MiM1ICMqCTVfSU3PuauYBlWqxVACL0B/w1037-h921-no/3dAndTextSameWindow.PNG


Feature is complete: Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24

I finished the implementation of Willy Tschager's feature request.

There are three possible configurations (located in the options dialog):

  1. Separate windows (default)
  2. Text on the left  / 3D on the right
  3. Text on the right / 3D on the left

[Image: 3dAndTextSameWindow2.PNG]

[Image: 3dAndTextSameWindow3.PNG]


RE: Feature is complete: Text and 3D Editor in the same window - Magnus Forsberg - 2016-07-24

(2016-07-24, 12:55)Nils Schmidt Wrote: I finished the implementation of Willy Tschager's feature request.

There are three possible configurations (located in the options dialog):

  1. Separate windows (default)
  2. Text on the left  / 3D on the right
  3. Text on the right / 3D on the left

Looks very good, as long as I get to resize the witdth of the windows.
I guess this also means that it is now possible to minimize LDPE with a single click in the taskbar?

Bug report:
  • Mirroring quads is no longer possible by select lines, Copy, Paste, Select the new lines, Translate by -1. The original quads also gets mirrored. They seem to be selected too.
  • The error described by Willy Tschager here is back. The cursor jumps ahead after I try to edit a value in a vertice, in the text editor.

Feature requests:
  • I want to create non-standard "primitives" like I can in LDPC.   e.g. a ten-sided edge primitive.
  • I want to set the second line in a angle protractor to a defined angle.
I'm currently working on the new rim fronts, 24308, and I have to find lots of workarounds to create this ten-sided design fit our sixteen-sided primitives.

How is the background picture supposed to work?
It is only visible until I try to edit something in the 3D editor for the first time. Then it becomes invisible until I choose to set the view to exact 90 degrees against the plane of the picture.


FAQ / BG Picture / Mirror - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24

(2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Looks very good, as long as I get to resize the witdth of the windows.
I guess this also means that it is now possible to minimize LDPE with a single click in the taskbar?

Yes, you can resize the width and it is now possible to minimize LDPE with one click.
The old window arrangement is still supported.

(2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Bug report:
Mirroring quads is no longer possible by select lines, Copy, Paste, Select the new lines, Translate by -1.
The original quads also gets mirrored. They seem to be selected too.

I created two issues (#365, #366) for this bug. It is, in fact, something more: A GUI design flaw and a bug.
LDPE has a lot mode switches. One mode switch is very important for the mesh manipulation.
It is called "Move Adjacent Data":
[Image: Adjacent.PNG]

When this switch is active, the transformation of a selected vertex will affect all adjacent objects (triangles, lines, etc. with this vertex).
So... if you copy something, paste it and transform it (while "Move Adjacent Data" is active) the original data gets mirrored!

(2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: Feature requests:
  • I want to create non-standard "primitives" like I can in LDPC.   e.g. a ten-sided edge primitive.
  • I want to set the second line in a angle protractor to a defined angle.

I will see what I can do (#363, #364)

(2016-07-24, 14:08)Magnus Forsberg Wrote: How is the background picture supposed to work?
It is only visible until I try to edit something in the 3D editor for the first time. Then it becomes invisible until I choose to set the view to exact 90 degrees against the plane of the picture.

This is how it is supposed to work :)
You can adjust the axis rotation parameters to change the plane of the image (=rotate the image).
Why did the image disappear? An image is normally useless for other viewing angles since the 3D model will no longer "match" to the image.

Code:
0 !LPE PNG [X-Coord] [Y-Coord] [Z-Coord] [X-Axis Rotation] [Y-Axis Rotation] [Z-Axis Rotation] [Scale X] [ScaleY] [Path]



Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-24

Magnus Forsberg Wrote:The error described by Willy Tschager here is back. The cursor jumps ahead after I try to edit a value in a vertice, in the text editor.
I am not able to reproduce this error.


RE: Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? - Magnus Forsberg - 2016-07-24

(2016-07-24, 19:30)Nils Schmidt Wrote:
Magnus Forsberg Wrote:The error described by Willy Tschager here is back. The cursor jumps ahead after I try to edit a value in a vertice, in the text editor.
I am not able to reproduce this error.

OK, maybe not exactly the same error, but something is definitely wrong in the sync editor.

If I, like Willy, selects the decimals in a vertice and starts typing something else, it looks OK.
But if I click Delete, the cursor jumps two steps into the next value. And the same happens if I click Backspace.

Code:
2 24 -1.0566839599609375 -.108887939453125 -5.0921923828125 -1.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125

If I then start typing at that position, more strange things happen.
If I choose all the decimals of the last value (the z-value), the cursor jumps out of the sync editor box, and if I then type a new digit there, the entire first vertice gets replaced with the digits of the next vertice. Here I typed a "5"

Code:
2 24 -51.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125 -1.01219970703125 -.2245203399658203125 -5.5691767578125



RE: [LDPartEditor] 0.8.19 Beta Released (Tabs in 3D Editor / Smooth / bugfix) - Philippe Hurbain - 2016-07-28

For the record... I made this part (granted, simple one!) using LDPE on a puny old XP laptop with a 1.6 GHz Core Duo processor / 1Gb Ram. Starting LDPE on this machine takes a hell of a time, but after that it runs rather smoothly!


RE: Wrong cursor position with SyncEdit enabled? (Solved) - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-28

Thanks! I was able to fix this.
The solution will be included in version 0.8.20.


LDPE and Windows XP - Nils Schmidt - 2016-07-28

(2016-07-28, 18:36)Philippe Hurbain Wrote: For the record... I made this part (granted, simple one!) using LDPE on a puny old XP laptop with a 1.6 GHz Core Duo processor / 1Gb Ram. Starting LDPE on this machine takes a hell of a time, but after that it runs rather smoothly!

Even with my machine from hell  (i7 3770k / 16GB RAM / 2x GTX 1080 SLI / 512GB+480GB SSD) it takes forever (40s) to start LDPE on my Win XP Virtual Machine... Smile