LDraw.org Discussion Forums
LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Printable Version

+- LDraw.org Discussion Forums (https://forums.ldraw.org)
+-- Forum: LDraw Programs (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: LDraw Editors and Viewers (https://forums.ldraw.org/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans (/thread-18426.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Roland Melkert - 2017-11-08

(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Another request:

Can the "main" model always be the first in the row of submodels in both part bins and modellist

Now models is sorted alphabetically by name and "main" is somewhere betweed L and N.
Building a model that has named submodels it can be hard to find Main.

Lately I just name my submodels "submodel-1, 2, 3" ect. like LDCad suggests when creating a submodel, but when it comes to further process the model file in LPub3D it is far more conveinient to have named submodels.

I know Ctrl-end activates the main model, but when using external files this does not work.

Hope you know what I mean?

You could try editing or copying the "allModelsUsedByCur.pbg" (I assume you use that bin as you say its non mpd) and set  sortOn=none


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Jaco van der Molen - 2017-11-11

(2017-11-08, 21:13)Roland Melkert Wrote:
(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Another request:

Can the "main" model always be the first in the row of submodels in both part bins and modellist

Now models is sorted alphabetically by name and "main" is somewhere betweed L and N.
Building a model that has named submodels it can be hard to find Main.

Lately I just name my submodels "submodel-1, 2, 3" ect. like LDCad suggests when creating a submodel, but when it comes to further process the model file in LPub3D it is far more conveinient to have named submodels.

I know Ctrl-end activates the main model, but when using external files this does not work.

Hope you know what I mean?

You could try editing or copying the "allModelsUsedByCur.pbg" (I assume you use that bin as you say its non mpd) and set  sortOn=none

Hmm, tried this, but does not seem to have Any effect on sorting.
Perhaps I used the wrong bin.... 
are the more values for sortOn?


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Roland Melkert - 2017-11-11

(2017-11-11, 6:52)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Hmm, tried this, but does not seem to have Any effect on sorting.
Perhaps I used the wrong bin.... 
are the more values for sortOn?

The valid values are: "none",  "name",  "description",  "id",  "timeStamp"

'none' depends on the loading order (I think, it's very old code) so if you opened other (depended upon) models before the main.ldr it won't be at the top.

Also be sure LDCad is closed while editing pbg files, as it sometimes writes to them upon closing for caching purposes.


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Willy Tschager - 2017-11-12

(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Another request:

Can the "main" model always be the first in the row of submodels in both part bins and modellist

Well I wish I could sort the order via GUI like I was used to in MLCad and since you already have all those .pbg for the category I wish I could also edit those (or LDCad would come with a set of predefined parts shown in the Parts Bin Window) Honestly that "42236.dat - Duplo Plate 1 x 2 with Overhang" as representative for the Plates category is ridiculous.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - David Manley - 2017-11-12

(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Another request:

Can the "main" model always be the first in the row of submodels in both part bins and modellist

Now models is sorted alphabetically by name and "main" is somewhere betweed L and N.
Building a model that has named submodels it can be hard to find Main.

Lately I just name my submodels "submodel-1, 2, 3" ect. like LDCad suggests when creating a submodel, but when it comes to further process the model file in LPub3D it is far more conveinient to have named submodels.

I know Ctrl-end activates the main model, but when using external files this does not work.

Hope you know what I mean?

Hi Jaco,

one possible approach is to name of the sub-models with some form of numeric prefix. I put a two-part numeric prefix as part of my models' name and my main model is always numbered 0. For example;

000-00-main
010-00-foundation
010-10-foundation_01
010-20-foundation_02
010-30-transfer_shaft
...
050-00-input_box
050-10-input_wall_left
...

This allows me to control the sequence and group "like" sub-models together. Where a sub-model is formed by a group of other smaller sub-models, I name the top of the sub-model group with a "-00-" (e.g. 010-00-foundation) and the smaller related sub-models in increments of 10 (e.g. 010-10-foundation_01). I use increments of 10 for the sub-models as it provides an allowance in the numbering if a sub-model is subsequently split (e.g. I can add sub-models with prefixes of 010-12- and 010-14 without requiring any renumbering).

Regards,

David


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Roland Melkert - 2017-11-12

(2017-11-12, 16:25)Willy Tschager Wrote: Honestly that "42236.dat - Duplo Plate 1 x 2 with Overhang" as representative for the Plates category is ridiculous.

I can't help a Duplo part being in the Plate category (Chris?/Philo?), the def by cat bins use the first part as the mascot. Those groups are only a fallback anyway, as the 'sorted' branch is the one intended for normal modelling work and thus has more (handpicked) recognizable mascots.

2.0 will have more GUI oriented bin group options.


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Willy Tschager - 2017-11-13

(2017-11-12, 20:02)David Manley Wrote:
(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Another request:

Can the "main" model always be the first in the row of submodels in both part bins and modellist

Now models is sorted alphabetically by name and "main" is somewhere betweed L and N.
Building a model that has named submodels it can be hard to find Main.

Lately I just name my submodels "submodel-1, 2, 3" ect. like LDCad suggests when creating a submodel, but when it comes to further process the model file in LPub3D it is far more conveinient to have named submodels.

I know Ctrl-end activates the main model, but when using external files this does not work.

Hope you know what I mean?

Hi Jaco,

one possible approach is to name of the sub-models with some form of numeric prefix. I put a two-part numeric prefix as part of my models' name and my main model is always numbered 0. For example;

000-00-main
010-00-foundation
010-10-foundation_01
010-20-foundation_02
010-30-transfer_shaft
...
050-00-input_box
050-10-input_wall_left
...

This allows me to control the sequence and group "like" sub-models together. Where a sub-model is formed by a group of other smaller sub-models, I name the top of the sub-model group with a "-00-" (e.g. 010-00-foundation) and the smaller related sub-models in increments of 10 (e.g. 010-10-foundation_01). I use increments of 10 for the sub-models as it provides an allowance in the numbering if a sub-model is subsequently split (e.g. I can add sub-models with prefixes of 010-12- and 010-14 without requiring any renumbering).

Regards,

David

I further advocate to return to 8.3 filenames.

w.


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Roland Melkert - 2017-11-13

(2017-11-13, 7:34)Willy Tschager Wrote: I further advocate to return to 8.3 filenames.

Why?


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - David Manley - 2017-11-13

(2017-11-13, 19:29)Roland Melkert Wrote:
(2017-11-13, 7:34)Willy Tschager Wrote: I further advocate to return to 8.3 filenames.

Why?

Roland,

I think you may find that was perhaps Willy's way of saying he doesn't like my approach in naming sub-models rather than actually advocating a return to 8.3 filenames.

David


RE: LDCad 1.6 suggestions/plans - Jaco van der Molen - 2017-11-13

(2017-11-12, 20:02)David Manley Wrote:
(2017-11-08, 12:44)Jaco van der Molen Wrote: Hope you know what I mean?

Hi Jaco,

one possible approach is to name of the sub-models with some form of numeric prefix. I put a two-part numeric prefix as part of my models' name and my main model is always numbered 0. For example;

000-00-main
010-00-foundation
010-10-foundation_01
010-20-foundation_02
010-30-transfer_shaft
...
050-00-input_box
050-10-input_wall_left
...

This allows me to control the sequence and group "like" sub-models together. Where a sub-model is formed by a group of other smaller sub-models, I name the top of the sub-model group with a "-00-" (e.g. 010-00-foundation) and the smaller related sub-models in increments of 10 (e.g. 010-10-foundation_01). I use increments of 10 for the sub-models as it provides an allowance in the numbering if a sub-model is subsequently split (e.g. I can add sub-models with prefixes of 010-12- and 010-14 without requiring any renumbering).

Regards,

David

OK, good suggestion. Nice approach. I will give this some thought. Thanks.