LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Texture Mapping extension
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
This is in reference to the LSC post

Do to the potential to reuse patterns at differing scales, I'd like to see the mapped images be in a vector based format. Thoughts?
I can see how it would be useful, but as a software author, I would prefer we didn't go down that road. In order for it to be useful, we'd probably want to use a standard vector format, and most likely that means SVG. Unfortunately, supporting SVG textures requires tools to incorporate some 3rd-party SVG library. Realistically, this would be the case for any standard vector file format; they're just too complicated to expect an LDraw program to directly parse them. (Using the LDraw format itself as the format for the vector "textures" would seem to defeat the purpose, since that wouldn't make part creation any easier.) From my point of view, that's yet another library that I have to get working in LDView, and I already have enough that it's quite difficult to get LDView to build on a clean machine. Adding one more just complicates things further. Also, it takes a lot longer to load (and then render) an SVG than to load a PNG.

In order to get the performance gains that textures bring, the vector texture would then need to be converted to an image by the rendering program, and that image would then be used as a texture map. And while it's true that the program could generate the image at a resolution that is based on the size at which the image is projected, I don't think this buys us much over simply making the PNG texture big enough to be useful in the largest part using the pattern.