LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Detail View
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
I am very new to LPub3D. I have built a big crane, and now am trying to make an instruction of it. So far I have studied all tutorials I could find, and they helped me a lot. But one for my project important information I could not find:

How is it possible to make a detailed view of only an specific area of the whole model?

I would like to make some steps on only a small area of the big crane, and therefore it would be great to zoom in, and crop the rendered image to see only the important area. So I could make a multi step with for example 4 steps on one page, showing only the area where I add parts with higher scale.

Does anybody know a posibility to do this with LPub3D? (On studio I know how to do this, but unfortunatelly not for LPub3D...)

I am using LPub3D 2.3.13.0.1511 (because 2.4 crashes all the time).

Thanks for some help!!! Smile 

David

I have added some examples from official Lego instructions.
(2020-11-13, 9:52)David Lang Wrote: [ -> ]How is it possible to make a detailed view of only an specific area of the whole model?

AFAIK there is no direct way in LPub3D. I use these two methods:

1. when it's possible, I use submodels - this makes exactly a focus on the related part of the model and I do not need to fiddle with any cropping, frames etc.

2. I make a copy of the model in LDCAD, open it also in LPub3D where I set higher DPI resolution. Then, when I need a special view, I prepare such (rotation) step in LDCAD and take the corresponding rendered image from LPub3D cache. Then I use such image (even after some edit like crop, arrows, notes...) in the main/original model LPub3D, as an external image.