LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: Problem exporting model to ldd
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm making a Lego robot arm build guide in LDCad. But being a novice, I accidentally created a sub-model within the main build window. My finished model is now saved as 'LDraw Multi-Part Project' instead of as an LDraw file(*.ldr). I found my mistake after many hours of build when I finally tried to export my build guide to Lego Digital Designer, as it is the format I was expected to submit. When I try to import this file to Lego Digital Designer(LDD), LDD only looks for *.ldr files only. I want to save my sub-model as main model in LDCad with all the steps I used to create it. A search on the internet hasn't helped me find solutions. I really don't want to go back to the drawing board and spend many hours I barely have on building it again. Can anyone help?
(2020-04-20, 22:27)Moe Wrote: [ -> ]I'm making a Lego robot arm build guide in LDCad. But being a novice, I accidentally created a sub-model within the main build window. My finished model is now saved as 'LDraw Multi-Part Project' instead of as an LDraw file(*.ldr). I found my mistake after many hours of build when I finally tried to export my build guide to Lego Digital Designer, as it is the format I was expected to submit. When I try to import this file to Lego Digital Designer(LDD), LDD only looks for *.ldr files only. I want to save my sub-model as main model in LDCad with all the steps I used to create it. A search on the internet hasn't helped me find solutions. I really don't want to go back to the drawing board and spend many hours I barely have on building it again. Can anyone help?

If the problem is merely the file type, you should be able to simply change the file extension from .mpd to .ldr.

If the problem is that you want to save your subfile as a standalone document, you can do that with Session->Detach this Subfile. You'll have the option to save it as a new file (and rename it properly).
(2020-04-20, 22:27)Moe Wrote: [ -> ]I'm making a Lego robot arm build guide in LDCad. But being a novice, I accidentally created a sub-model within the main build window. My finished model is now saved as 'LDraw Multi-Part Project' instead of as an LDraw file(*.ldr). I found my mistake after many hours of build when I finally tried to export my build guide to Lego Digital Designer, as it is the format I was expected to submit. When I try to import this file to Lego Digital Designer(LDD), LDD only looks for *.ldr files only. I want to save my sub-model as main model in LDCad with all the steps I used to create it. A search on the internet hasn't helped me find solutions. I really don't want to go back to the drawing board and spend many hours I barely have on building it again. Can anyone help?

Are all the bricks in one submodel?

If so LDD won't really care (just rename the mpd to ldr). This because it will read any LDraw content as a single model, ignoring any mpd instructions in the file.

If you did add bricks to multiple sub models you need to reorganize.

Go to the main model and select the submodel you want to 'dissolve', then right mouse click to open the selection menu and use reorganize/inline

If you want to go back to a clean ldr state you could also do:

- enter nested mode ( 'n' key while mouse is inside editing area). 
- ctrl+a (ignore message)
- ctrl+c
- Start a new file
- ctrl+v

I recommend making a backup copy before any this though.
(2020-04-20, 22:51)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]If the problem is merely the file type, you should be able to simply change the file extension from .mpd to .ldr.

If the problem is that you want to save your subfile as a standalone document, you can do that with Session->Detach this Subfile. You'll have the option to save it as a new file (and rename it properly).
I did as you said and detached the subfile, it did work but ldd removed a total of 135 bricks. 6 because it couldn’t be loaded and 129 because they were not placed correctly according to ldd. But I was very careful in placing the bricks zooming all the way in to make sure they are placed correctly.
(2020-04-20, 22:51)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]Are all the bricks in one submodel?

If so LDD won't really care (just rename the mpd to ldr). This because it will read any LDraw content as a single model, ignoring any mpd instructions in the file.

If you did add bricks to multiple sub models you need to reorganize.

Go to the main model and select the submodel you want to 'dissolve', then right mouse click to open the selection menu and use reorganize/inline

If you want to go back to a clean ldr state you could also do:

- enter nested mode ( 'n' key while mouse is inside editing area). 
- ctrl+a  (ignore message)
- ctrl+c
- Start a new file
- ctrl+v

I recommend making a backup copy before any this though.
Yes all the bricks are in one sub model. A sub model I created by accident.
How do you change the file type from *.mpd to *.ldr?
Edit: ok I managed to change the file type after a quick search on the internet but I am still facing the same problem I mentioned in the previous reply. Only this time I’m missing 142 bricks in ldd, because they can’t be loaded. Even more than I missed by detaching the subfile.
(2020-04-20, 23:35)Moe Wrote: [ -> ]Only this time I’m missing 142 bricks in ldd, because they can’t be loaded.

LDD can be extremly picky at this, but far I know you should be ok when using the default grid or part snapping in LDCad

Did you use a very fine grid while 'eying' it. This shouldn't be necessary as most bricks are aligned to multitudes of 10 (width and dept) and 8 (height). This is also the default grid stepping.

Using a fine grid might have placed things a fraction to far, which LDD won't tolerate.

You could try to select all and while the default grid is active (press 3 while the mouse is in the editing area) use the  placement/snap all to grid option from the right click selection menu.

But many parts might need manual adjusting afterwards.
(2020-04-20, 23:35)Moe Wrote: [ -> ]Yes all the bricks are in one sub model. A sub model I created by accident.
How do you change the file type from *.mpd to *.ldr?
Edit: ok I managed to change the file type after a quick search on the internet but I am still facing the same problem I mentioned in the previous reply. Only this time I’m missing 142 bricks in ldd, because they can’t be loaded. Even more than I missed by detaching the subfile.

Any chance you could attach your file here so we can see what's up? It may also be that you just have a bunch of parts that aren't available in LDD.
(2020-04-21, 0:06)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]LDD can be extremly picky at this, but far I know you should be ok when using the default grid or part snapping in LDCad

Did you use a very fine grid while 'eying' it. This shouldn't be necessary as most bricks are aligned to multitudes of 10 (width and dept) and 8 (height). This is also the default grid stepping.

Using a fine grid might have placed things a fraction to far, which LDD won't tolerate.

You could try to select all and while the default grid is active (press 3 while the mouse is in the editing area) use the  placement/snap all to grid option from the right click selection menu.

But many parts might need manual adjusting afterwards.
Yes, I used the normal grid but reduced it to 2’s. And a fine grid for some of those half width bricks. I also zoomed all the way in and checked it fitted properly by rotating the model and checking for any misalignment.
Correction: I used the small grid and further reduced to 2,2,2,5
Edit: I tried the 'Snap all to grid' option and as you said it has moved and rearranged a lot of the bricks.
(2020-04-21, 0:10)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]Any chance you could attach your file here so we can see what's up? It may also be that you just have a bunch of parts that aren't available in LDD.
I have attached the file. Note that a few sensors and the EV3 brick are yet to be attached. Ldd has also removed all the nxt parts out.
(2020-04-21, 0:25)Moe Wrote: [ -> ]I have attached the file. Note that a few sensors and the EV3 brick are yet to be attached. Ldd has also removed all the nxt parts out.

I don't see an attachment?
Pages: 1 2 3