LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: LDCad—Tying the knot
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
(2019-11-15, 20:25)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]I think the main reason was generating the mesh was surprisingly easy.

Why Studio only supports type 1 lines in custom parts is beyond me.

Yeah, I would rather have Studio accommodate the standard LDraw editors than the other way around! Big Grin

(2019-11-15, 20:29)Willy Tschager Wrote: [ -> ][Image: attachment.php?thumbnail=4229]

Looks like you have too much spare time at your disposal Big Grin 

w.

You'd think so…but that right there took me something like a week to finish.  Rolleyes
(2019-11-15, 23:19)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]You'd think so…but that right there took me something like a week to finish.  Rolleyes

I do the same on several models. Just look in the OMR for 8856 for example. The trick I use: I just add on round of the rope open a text editor and copy and manipulate the rest of this rope layer by hand. Only hard thing is, when you have to go to the second layer. This is done manually and after the first full rope round in the second layer I use the text editor again.

Doing a spool takes half an our by using the text editor. ;-)

I have the bad feeling that I have to "borrow" your knot for the next model. :-D

/Max
(2019-11-15, 23:32)Max Martin Richter Wrote: [ -> ]I do the same on several models. Just look in the OMR for 8856 for example. The trick I use: I just add on round of the rope open a text editor and copy and manipulate the rest of this rope layer by hand. Only hard thing is, when you have to go to the second layer. This is done manually and after the first full rope round in the second layer I use the text editor again.

Doing a spool takes half an our by using the text editor. ;-)

I have the bad feeling that I have to "borrow" your knot for the next model. :-D

/Max

Well, I'll make a better one perhaps, whenever the next version of LDCad appears. Then I'll be happy to offer it up as a template.  Smile
(2019-11-18, 4:42)N. W. Perry Wrote: [ -> ]Well, I'll make a better one perhaps, whenever the next version of LDCad appears. Then I'll be happy to offer it up as a template.  Smile

If you take the generated code (stuff below 0 !LDCAD GENERATED) and put it in a custom part file, you could use it as a donor inside a second rope template (which would use it as a cap).
(2019-11-21, 23:26)Roland Melkert Wrote: [ -> ]If you take the generated code (stuff below 0 !LDCAD GENERATED) and put it in a custom part file, you could use it as a donor inside a second rope template (which would use it as a cap).

Neat idea—and it won't matter that the knot already contains a cap part? (I added the 4-4 disc that wasn't present in the LQ rope template, at least for the visible end of the string.)
Pages: 1 2