LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: How to add/update latest parts in LDCad?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys, i'm relatively new to designing Lego models, and I'm missing some essential information on some important and maybe simple to do things like this, so I decided to ask for help. 

I'm using LDCad and it is amazing, but for the first time I encountered a part that is not in the library, because it is from 2017 sets. I updated LDCad with the latest version, but I don't think this is what needs to be done as part is still not there. I downloaded latest parts from the site as well, but am not sure how to or if I am at all able to install them into LDcad.

Could you please provide me with some guidelines how to add missing parts into LDCad 1.6a?

Thank you in advance!
(2017-10-10, 18:34)Yasen Nikolov Wrote: [ -> ]Could you please provide me with some guidelines how to add missing parts into LDCad 1.6a?

The LDraw library is very large but doesn't contain every part ever made by LEGO. There are new parts modelled all the time but they are kept separate from the main library until they pass a number of quality checks.

You can check if the parts you need are in this 'unofficial' library by searching for them here:
http://www.ldraw.org/library/tracker/

If they exist you can install the unofficial library for use with LDCad, but be aware these unofficial part might change in the future, if so you would need to correct models using them unless you embed them in the mpd.

You can download the current (changes daily) unofficial library here:
http://www.ldraw.org/article/14.html

Hand follow these instructions to install them in LDCad:
http://www.melkert.net/LDCad/faq#faq_unoflib
Hi Roland,

It is a pleasure speaking to you, i'm a big fan of your program and I want to shout out a big thank you for making it available for the community, in my opinion the best editor out there!