LDraw.org Discussion Forums

Full Version: How to become a parts reviewer?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello
I'm very new to this Lego CAD stuff, but have general CAD experience from my work. I would like to contribute in some way to reviewing unofficial parts. What is involved? Do I need digital calipers to measure the original part and then compare to the digital version? Would I just be reviewing the part for appearance?
Cheers
...and a few old timers (like me) hanging on Parts Tracker are there to help you if needed! I also think that trying to author some simple parts can help. It is good to see both sides of the mirror...
I'll second Philo here and say that one of the best ways to learn how to review a part is to create a part and submit it for review. The comments and fixes made about your submissions will help you understand how to review other submissions.
OK, my interest has been piqued.
Is there any know way to convert from more "standard" CAD file formats to the LDraw *.dat format? I'm quite adept with PTC CoCreate 3D CAD software. I can output in most 3D file formats (STEP, 3D IGES, and SAT).

I'm also sure I could figure out how to do it with various LDraw utilities too, but as with any new software there would be a learning curve. Are there any OS X programs that can be used to author parts?
Unfortunatly, conversion programs are few and far between. As far as OSX, I think Bricksmith has everything you need to get started although I've never used it as a part authoring program (I only have 1 part left on the tracker and I submitted it in 2002). I do recommend LDView as well since it can be used to spot the more common errors. I also think Mike Heidemann's DATHeader can be used in OSX via Mono.